Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 08-26-2006, 04:59 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular

New 65 Gallon Tank--Specific Live-Rock Questions

Im a NOOB. Had a tank WAY back and looking to start a new on in a a new way for me.

1) I will be starting/cycling a new tank with Live-Rock. The TONGA deep-water rock
looks amazing,
but also looks like it has lots more sensitive stuff which would die
during the cycle.
Should I add Tonga Rock AFTER the initial cycling. Is there an
"extra-hearty" type of Live-Rock that
should be used for cycling?

2) Does a FOWLR tank sustain inverts such as feather
dusters,crabs,Stars,urchins, shrimp etc?

3)I have about 25 lbs of dead coral and rock left over from the good-old under-gravel filterdays (20 years ago!). Just curious---will organisms adopt it and start making it LIVE-ROCK
also, thereby increasing the natural filtration?

4) What is this Bio-Spira stuff? I dont feel totally comfortable with it. My wife picked some up when she bought the tank.Its been stored in the fridge. Will it aid in stabilizing the
tank? Shortening the Cycle? Is it "may help,may not, but cant hurt"---or should I just avoid
using it completely?

thanks for your time and patience

Old 08-26-2006, 10:23 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Welcome to AquariumAdvice.com!!!
Quote:
1) I will be starting/cycling a new tank with Live-Rock. The TONGA deep-water rock
looks amazing,
but also looks like it has lots more sensitive stuff which would die
during the cycle.