Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-05-2012, 07:02 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
danbstrong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jk83lfcn
I need to take the rock from him this weekend if I'm taking it as he is moving too a new house and unfortunately I have a RO/DI unit being delivered but it won't be here until next Thursday :-( so would it be ok too use he's water too??
Itd be ok imo hopefully his water parameters are all good that would be my only concern but sounds like you dont have much choice
__________________

__________________
danbstrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 07:30 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Jk83lfcn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by danbstrong

Itd be ok imo hopefully his water parameters are all good that would be my only concern but sounds like you dont have much choice
Thanks Dan,Ya not alot of options really, he is also giving me he's protein skimmer so now I think I might build a sump as I have a spare tank witch is about 20g would that be big enough for my sump do you think??
__________________

__________________
Jk83lfcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 07:32 PM   #23
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
danbstrong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jk83lfcn

Thanks Dan,Ya not alot of options really, he is also giving me he's protein skimmer so now I think I might build a sump as I have a spare tank witch is about 20g would that be big enough for my sump do you think??
I highly reccommend a fuge down in the sump for nutrient export
__________________
danbstrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 07:34 PM   #24
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
danbstrong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jk83lfcn

Thanks Dan,Ya not alot of options really, he is also giving me he's protein skimmer so now I think I might build a sump as I have a spare tank witch is about 20g would that be big enough for my sump do you think??
Heres an example sump if your building
__________________
danbstrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 07:38 PM   #25
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Jk83lfcn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by danbstrong

I highly reccommend a fuge down in the sump for nutrient export
Was going to go with something like this does this look ok? Is the fuge the middle compartment??

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2635467461.jpg
Views:	78
Size:	202.8 KB
ID:	116974
__________________
Jk83lfcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 07:40 PM   #26
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Jk83lfcn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 39
Or any better ideas would be great!
__________________
Jk83lfcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 07:42 PM   #27
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
danbstrong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jk83lfcn
Or any better ideas would be great!
Thats what im using on my 55g but i like this new style better
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	_2.facebook_55152.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	52.2 KB
ID:	116977  
__________________
danbstrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 07:43 PM   #28
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
danbstrong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jk83lfcn
Or any better ideas would be great!
Both styles are fine what i like about this design is control over flow thru fugi
__________________
danbstrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 07:46 PM   #29
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Jk83lfcn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by danbstrong

Thats what im using on my 55g but i like this new style better
That's cool but I don't have too much space, did you post a pic of your sump??
__________________
Jk83lfcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 07:56 PM   #30
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Jk83lfcn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 39
Do I have to have a hole up high in the tank for the overflow or do you syphon it over the top? That can be dangerous if your return pump stops I suppose. How does the controlled overflow work?
__________________

__________________
Jk83lfcn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.