Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-22-2009, 10:28 PM   #131
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 228
My chaeto algea i think is acting more like an sponge filter than anything
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	017b.jpg
Views:	37
Size:	75.5 KB
ID:	17166   Click image for larger version

Name:	018b.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	70.5 KB
ID:	17168  

__________________

__________________
cooltop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2009, 10:35 PM   #132
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
have you tested for phosphates?
__________________

__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2009, 10:53 PM   #133
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 228
phosphate is showing 0 with my test. Will take it by the LFS tommoro to get them to check it
__________________
cooltop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2009, 11:18 PM   #134
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
You may want to consider switching to pellet food. Flake food tends to have phosphates in it, even if it says phosphate free.

Seeing a 0 reading on the phosphate kit is probably a false neg. The algae is eating it up so fast you aren't seeing it on the test.
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 05:34 PM   #135
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 228
Okay new Problem here.

Had a water line break in the house messed up my wooden floors. I am going to have to move my tank so they can put new floor down. I only have 2 clowns as of now. What can I do with them when I move my tank and will my tank have to cylce again once I get it back up.
__________________
cooltop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 05:37 PM   #136
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
that stinks, sorry for your luck.

How long will the tank need to be out of commission? i.e. are you just going to move it somewhere, or will it need to be taken down for a period of days while the floors are repaired?
__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 05:58 PM   #137
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
Get a couple of trash cans from walmart for your water and lr. Pump out all but about 1/2" water, leave just enough water in the tank to cover the sand. Very carefully move the tank with the sand and that bit of water to where ever you have to for the time being. As long as you keep the sand submerged and all the rock in water with flow and heat you should be ok. The fish can be kept in a small 10g tank while the floor is fixed, just make sure to keep the water topped off and some form of filtration.
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 06:25 PM   #138
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 228
I wouldnt think but a day or 2. SInce the floor is concrete and all they have to do is take old wood floors up and put new ones down so surley that want take to long. Looks like it will be a good time to scrub the hair algea off the LR now. Have to wait on the insurance check first so looks like i got about 2 weeks to get ready for that. Also what about the hermit crabs and snails leave them in the main tank? I take it I should put new mixed water back into the tank when refilling?
__________________
cooltop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 06:36 PM   #139
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
I would not fill the tank with all new SW. I would have a good sized PWC ready to go and mix it with your old SW and fill the tank that way.
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2009, 11:22 PM   #140
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 228
I think my sump and tank is finally having a diatoms blooms. Well mabey this new floor thing will be a good ideal. Will give me time and make some things easer to clean. Also thinking about redoing the plumbing at least on the drain part mabey making PVC. Also going to add 20lbs more sand only in one part of the tank on the front right to get rid of that hole there. I assume that the snails and crabs will not make it thorough this.
__________________

__________________
cooltop is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
2 gallon, 72 gallon, bow front

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
46 Gallon Bow Front Tank Drake Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 11-10-2011 08:32 AM
my 46 gallon bow front phantomtiger Members Saltwater Tanks Showcase 4 01-05-2010 12:59 AM
My First 26 Gallon Bow Front SW Tank bawel Members Saltwater Tanks Showcase 40 04-11-2009 10:01 PM
49 gallon bow front fvalbr2l DIY Projects 2 03-22-2008 05:43 PM
Getting 46 Gallon Bow Front Tank :D Rxblade123 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 11-16-2004 12:57 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.