New 90 gallon build

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jsteiner

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am new to salt water, but have had fresh in the past. I have been lurking behind he scenes trying to read and learn as much as I can from you pros.

I have a 90 gallon that I had drilled, two 1400 power heads, heater and a control unit, red sea skimmer, and a 30 gallon sump.

This is going to be a fish only tank for now, but am buying and setting up as a reef, so I don't have to buy twice when I want to expand.

My first question is about the rock. I plan on 90 lbs in the DT tank and 20 lbs in the sump. My question is how much of the 110 pounds needs to be live rock? Of course my LFS says I need 80 lbs of their live rock for $11.00 a pound, but I am hoping not. Also does the live rock go in the DT tank or the sump?

I have an ro system and refractometer just so you know.

I will have many more questions to come, so thank you for your help in advance.

I agree that base rock will eventually turn to live rock. I did a 50/50 ratio bc at my LFS it goes for 7 per pound and I found dried Fiji on craigslist for 3 per pound.

Just ordered 80 lbs from reef cleaners and will get 30 lbs of live rock local.

With any luck I will get to put water in my tank this weekend. :)

Some more questions.

1. Do I need to glue my rock together or just stack it well?

2. Do I stack the rock against the back of the tank or keep some space for cleaning?

3. Can I post a pic from my iPad to one of my replys? I want others to look at my sump to make sure I am on the right track.

Thank you for your help.

Jim

Jsteiner said:
Some more questions.

1. Do I need to glue my rock together or just stack it well?

2. Do I stack the rock against the back of the tank or keep some space for cleaning?