Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 12-28-2008, 11:22 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
new acrylic 90 gallon tank ?

Need some advice! I just purchased a used Clear for Life 90 gal. acrylic tank (4 months old). I have some experience with saltwater but this tank has an overflow box. Help! I don't know anything about the pros and cons of these. I don't want to replumb the tank since the lifetime warranty will be invalid if I drill new holes to change the plumbing to run from the bottom of the tank.

I will still set up a sump/refugium with a protein skimmer. I was planning on buying the same one I bought for my son (ASM G series I think G2 maybe?). Does that sound right?

Any feedback?

I bought the tank with Nova Extreme T5 lighting, stand and 2 250 Stealth heaters included. I'm on my own from there.

fishcrack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 09:14 AM   #2
Sliced Bread

Hmm, I assume you're talking about it having a HOB style overflow box? And that's the difference from what you're used to? HOB style overflows work basically the same way as an internal overflow, except you need a siphon to get the water from inside to outside. Other than that, the concept is identical. They're very easy to use, just like an internal or a reef-ready tank.

In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 12:23 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular