Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 06-22-2012, 01:03 AM   #1
crm
Aquarium Advice Newbie

new here, just getting started with an already established tank. HELP

Hello everyone, I'm new to all this, and am about to buy my first tank. Its an already established tank thats been doing fine for about 3 years now, according to the current owner. This is a 37 gallon system with a 250w metal halide light fixture with two 45w actinic compact flourescents and moon lights. there are 2 Hydor Koralia power heads and one regular power head. As well as a Renafilstar XP2. The tank has approx. 45 lbs of live rock and 60 lbs of live sand, a few hermits, some snails, 1 cinnamon clown, 1 three striped damsel, and a purple lobster named Prince. (package deal) This is going to be a trial-by-fire learning experience and along with the tank I plan on picking up numerous books. My question for you all is, how well set up is this tank, in your opinions? What else should I look into buying to make it more harmonious and easily maintained? I've read the stickies in the beginner section, and have done as much research as I could do in the last couple days, but I thought I'd get straight to the point and ask you all what I should know and/or keep in mind. thank you all in advance for any help you can offer.

Colby

Old 06-22-2012, 01:32 AM   #2
crm
Aquarium Advice Newbie

also, I forgot to mention. The reason the current owner is selling is because he's moving to California, and cannot transport the set up halfway across the country. He's asking $300, but I'm betting he'd take $250 if I handed it to him. what do you all think?

Attached Images

Old 06-22-2012, 01:37 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict