Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-23-2011, 06:56 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
XxVooDooxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Carson City Nevada
Posts: 829
New QT

So I have a 15 gal tank I am making into a QT. I have an HOB bio wheel for filtration and a heater. I will have a small power head later this week, what can I use for filter media in the HOB? And if I'm using RO with no live rock or sand, does it need to cycle?

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium
__________________

__________________
XxVooDooxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 07:02 PM   #2
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,244
Yes it still needs to cycle. You`ll still have ammonia when you add fish so until it does cycle you`ll need to do PWC`s to keep the ammonia and nitrites down. Here is a good article on QT`s.

An Ounce of Prevention is Worth a Pound of Cure: A Quarantine Tank for Everything by Steven Pro - Reefkeeping.com
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 07:06 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
XxVooDooxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Carson City Nevada
Posts: 829
Ok thank you. I'm in kind of a bind so I know it's not recommended but if I need to can I QT a fish and keep up on the PWC?

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium
__________________
XxVooDooxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 07:10 PM   #4
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,244
Yes Keep up the PWC`s and esp. the testing of the water.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 07:16 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
XxVooDooxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Carson City Nevada
Posts: 829
Ok thank you for the advice

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium
__________________
XxVooDooxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 09:12 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Lethbridge, alberta
Posts: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by melosu58
Yes it still needs to cycle. You`ll still have ammonia when you add fish so until it does cycle you`ll need to do PWC`s to keep the ammonia and nitrites down. Here is a good article on QT`s.

An Ounce of Prevention is Worth a Pound of Cure: A Quarantine Tank for Everything by Steven Pro - Reefkeeping.com
Great article thanks for that
__________________

__________________
Karlos69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.