Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-16-2014, 05:10 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Channel Islands
Posts: 7
New reef setup

Hi everyone!

I have had a Juwel Trigon 190l for about a year and a half, slowly investing into different bits and pieces to convert the tank to marine. I have done quite a bit of research into my options but was just looking to see what more experienced people would do on their first set up.

I have the standard Juwel protein skimmer. I have purchased airlines, an air pump, air stones and an air curtain, which I will probably decide to either use or store when I get the tank running and I can see the water flow rates. Alongside this I have bought a seneye to monitor the water quality (although as a reef ecosystem I was aiming to use this as an alarm in case something dropped past its parameter).

I still need to read up a bit on corals! I have a book but need to read it properly!! I intend to have a DSB with live worms and maybe some reef safe crabs or shrimp. I would then after about 6 months look to add a couple of marine fish on which I'm a little undecided.

My main problem at the moment is the creation and fitting of a sump under my tank for copepods and also further filtration. I was thinking of having a shellfish in here too for filtration. Does anyone have any sump designs for a Trigon 190l they don't mind sharing? And my second problem being the need for a quarantine tank. What would the recommended size be and this would need to be fully setup as a reef tank at all times wouldn't it? Just wondering if I could have a sump in the left side of cabinet and quarantine in the right perhaps?

Also as a side note would there be any benefit to creating my own RO as opposed to using local aquarium RO, and is there any benefit to reactors being fitted on this setup? Sorry for the million questions!

Thanks for your help!

Richard


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
Rll89135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2014, 08:28 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Adamski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: London
Posts: 321
Hey. Air stones won't give you enough water movement, you'll need a wave maker (or two)

If you have the tank for the long haul, an RO unit should work out cheaper and easier.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
Adamski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2014, 04:43 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Channel Islands
Posts: 7
That makes sense! brilliant thank you very much. I was considering a wave maker but didn't want to go overkill on my water flow. I will definitely look into getting one now.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Rll89135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2014, 05:17 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Adamski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: London
Posts: 321
RO systems are a pretty expensive venture but I worked out that after roughly 6 months I would be saving money. You can get some pretty good deals online for nearly new wave makers


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Adamski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2014, 09:32 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Yes, air stones are a no-no in a salt water setup. You'll quickly ruin the surrounding area with something commonly called "salt creep". tiny bubbles will pop at the surface and sling salt water everywhere. It will look like this in no time at all-


Definitely invest in a power head or two. Ecotech Vortech are the best on the market, but also pricey. A single MP40 should be plenty for your tank.
Quality liquid test kits have been the tools of choice for monitoring tank parameters, but please keep us posted on the Seneye.
in many cases fish stores don't change out their filters as often as needed, so I would suggest investing in a TDS meter to monitor the quality of water your LFS is selling you. If it comes in as not pure, then you'll have answered your question about whether or not to purchase a RODI unit.
You'll need to add fish to your tank almost immediately after the cycle or your bacteria colony will not survive. 6 months without fish is too long IMO. Inverts are more sensitive and should be added after.
As for the sump, what components will you have in it? This will dictate how many partitions you'll need and also, the inside dimensions of the stand would be helpful. Bottom line is you should build your own if possible.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2014, 06:52 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Channel Islands
Posts: 7
Wow, I've definitely learnt a few things there, and you've saved me from a few expensive mistakes! I have to admit I thought I had read up enough on sumps but perhaps I haven't. I am hoping to use the sump as a refugium for copepod growth and also to assist with biological filtration. I guess my design would be an initial section containing filter media, a second section containing shell fish and/or shrimps to effectively purge the water and then an overflow into a third compartment for copepod growth and pump backup to the main tank. I will have a look at measuring up the cabinet today.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Rll89135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2014, 10:30 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
a simple 200 micron filter sock in the intake area would be ideal IMO. That and a suitable protein skimmer.
I would skip the clams in the second compartment as they don't really clean as much as people think. \Algae would be a better idea. This will also be the area that pods breed. Some live rock and algae would be an excellent environment for copepods.
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
reef, setup

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

« What? | Flow »
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Starting new 55G reef tank. Setup questions? marcos77 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 05-18-2004 12:40 AM
New 72gal BF Reef Tank Setup Questions. Hersh_007 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 14 01-25-2004 12:14 AM
Bad Green Algae in new reef setup cj10488 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 09-16-2003 11:29 PM
New reef tank setup Sneaker Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 8 06-30-2003 01:19 PM
New reef tank setup... Sneaker Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 13 06-18-2003 10:02 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.