Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-06-2005, 05:04 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: St Petersburg Fl
Posts: 603
Send a message via AIM to pearsont74 Send a message via Yahoo to pearsont74
New RO/DI system set up and very nice

Finally got my RO/DI system in (got this one http://cgi.ebay.com/AQUA-SAFE-MAXIMU...QQcmdZViewItem)
and wow....have it hooked up to my ice maker in my frige in my garage and it makes clear ice LOL not cloudy....what a difference.
anywho....plan to do a few water changes over the next few weeks to hopefully cycle out all the old water to replace with fresh new RO/DI saltwater - do I need to do for the full amount of the gals inmy tank.
I have a 90 gal....plan to do about 10 gal water changes....so I would need to do this 9 times?? the reason why is Im having some algy issue and hope this will help.
i dont have many critters makin a huge bio load....but plan to get some more and want to make sure my water parameters are excellent
any recommendations?
__________________

__________________
check my site out --> www.coppernreef.com
pearsont74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2005, 05:30 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 6,703
Just do normal water changes. 10gal a week won't replace all 90 gals in 9 weeks.
why not?

because after the first w/c, you'll be removing some of the new and some of the old water, and hte more water changes you do to put new water in, the less of the old gets removed.

so just do normal w/c and over time everything will correct itself.
__________________

__________________
Former advisor and planted tank geek...life's moved on though.
malkore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2005, 06:04 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Memphis
Posts: 196
I love math problems, if you did 10 gallons over 9 weeks, you would still have 34% old water in there if my math is correct. It will take almost 40 weeks to truly get rid of all the old water.

Remember if you replace 10% of your water with new, 90% will be old. The next week you will replace 10% more of your water so then you will be removing 10% of your new water and 10% of your old. So then you would have about 81% old, 19% new. The longer it goes, the less old water you will remove each time.

FYI, here's the schedule for different gallons for your size tank to get it to 10%
15G - 13 weeks
20G - 9 weeks
25G - 7 weeks
__________________
45G Reef - 65#'s of LR, 3" sand bed, Fluval 304 filled with LR rubble, (2) MJ900, SeaClone 100 protein skimmer with MJ1200
Fish - Ocellaris Clown, Royal Gramma, Purple Firefish, Coral Beauty, Blue Neon Goby
Coral - Xenia, Devil's Hand Leather, Toadstool Leather, Green Hairy Mushrooms, Zoanthids
Inverts - (2) Peppermint Shrimp, Scarlet Cleaner Shrimp, (5) Turbo Snails, (4) Nassarius Snails, (10) Blue Leg Hermits, Emerald Crab, (3) Scarlett Crabs, some small starfish(hitchhikers)


My Aquarium Photos
localhost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2005, 10:03 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: illinois
Posts: 291
hey just curious i was thinking about buying that very samething. how does that water ppm tester work ???
__________________
flame82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2005, 10:27 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: St Petersburg Fl
Posts: 603
Send a message via AIM to pearsont74 Send a message via Yahoo to pearsont74
lol....dont have a clue...havent tried it yet
but the clear ice is a good sign that its working and it was pretty easy to hook up
__________________
check my site out --> www.coppernreef.com
pearsont74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2005, 10:30 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Miami, Fla
Posts: 649
You would never remove all of the old water, it is like a radioactive half-life. However after a few weeks the amount of original water would be so low it would be negligable.

A TDS meter or ppm meter, sends electrical current between two poles, and measures the electrical resistance, the amount of resistance depends on the amount of dissolves solids.
__________________
Failing to prepare is preparing to fail.
-anonymous
seafan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2005, 08:28 PM   #7
Smo
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Arizona
Posts: 92
Bought that same unit and hooked it up Sunday. We have some nasty water out here but the good thing is that we have high pressure. Water pressure is 70 - 72psi. At that high of pressure I initially had 7 leaks. After 3 days of constant assembly/disassembly, and much use of Teflon Tape, I finally have it leak proof!
It's a big relief to not have to carry 20 -25 gallons of water every week from the grocery store.
__________________
29gal BB | 42+ lbs LR | 143watts PC | Asst. Leathers, Frogspawn, Hammer, XLG Open Brain, Zoanthids, Mushrooms, Diploastrea heliopora | Blue Mandarin | Atrosalarias Fuscus | Pair Captive Bred Ocellaris Clowns | Peppermint Shrimp | 6 Astrea's |
Smo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2005, 02:47 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: PHX
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smo
Bought that same unit and hooked it up Sunday. We have some nasty water out here but the good thing is that we have high pressure. Water pressure is 70 - 72psi. At that high of pressure I initially had 7 leaks. After 3 days of constant assembly/disassembly, and much use of Teflon Tape, I finally have it leak proof!
It's a big relief to not have to carry 20 -25 gallons of water every week from the grocery store.
I feel your pain and know how great life can be once you have an RO system setup. Where in 'Zona are you?
__________________
GTIMANiac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2005, 10:08 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: St Petersburg Fl
Posts: 603
Send a message via AIM to pearsont74 Send a message via Yahoo to pearsont74
i hooked mine up and no leaks....running 2 weeks and no leaks
my issue is i think my water pressure is abit low but enough to do its job
takes forever to fill a 5 gal jug though
__________________

__________________
check my site out --> www.coppernreef.com
pearsont74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ro/di, set up, stem, system

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dutch acqurium system filter set up outofdate1952 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 06-16-2009 08:27 PM
just set up my first DIY system DIY Projects 14 05-24-2005 07:45 PM
What would look nice Newbneedshelp Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 3 09-30-2004 01:57 PM
Eco-System 40 HOT System riptide Saltwater Reef Aquaria 0 11-23-2003 12:12 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.