new salt water tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

fugarwi

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am new to the sw tanks, I have done a lot of research (I think) and this is what I have so far:
I bought a 180 gal all glass from a friend which came with a wet dry and bio balls. He had a fish only system, and while I am not prepared to attempt anything other than fish, I wanted the ability to move up...I cleaned the tank as advised by some of you. It now sits empty waiting...

I bought a 30 gal tank for my medical/quarantine tank. In both of the tanks I plan on live rock and sand and sort of a berlin system with mechanical filtration also. The 30 gal came with a tetra tec hang on the back mechanical filter, which takes their pre made filters. (including activated carbon) I just mixed the salt in the tank, and there is nothing else in the tank at the time and I plan on waiting a week and adding the uncured live rock and the shrimp to cycle the tank. I have read I should wait until the end of the cycle to add activated carbon, but the hang on back is big enough that I could add some LR rubble. It would be totally submerged all the time. Is it worth it? Also, on my 180, the sump is designed just to keep the bio balls wet, should I ditch them and put in lr rubble instead?

Thanks for the advice!
Jeff

fugarwi said:
Also, on my 180, the sump is designed just to keep the bio balls wet, should I ditch them and put in lr rubble instead?

Yes this a very good idea. The rubble should be submerged. You really dont need the filter unless you want to run it for water movement and GAC. The shrimp and uncured LR is a good way to cycle your tank. Sounds like you are off to a good start.

In both of the tanks I plan on live rock and sand