New Salt Water Tank (Newbie)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Quartz92

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hello, I am new to the saltwater hobby. I have had 7 years of freshwater experiance and I think its time to upgrade my tank.

I don't have much space but I know that its possible to set up a saltwater fish tank with a 30g tank, actually 32g. Is there anything that anyone could recommend? Everything from fish that I could put in the tank (hopefully clowns) to the filter I need?

Right now I have a heater, filter, and thank that holds cichlids. I don't plan to switch over for a couple of years put would like to get some knowledge.

I have done endless amount of research on saltwater but I would like to know some trusted brands and tricks to the trade.

Thanks,

Quartz92

Thank you for the link! I really hope I can do this before I have planned it for. Right now I think it's going to happen in about a 2 years time! But none the less more research and help please!

Better to research now, and know everything before you start than get started and realize you don't know something crucial.

Good luck and I hope you'll find some good information. :)

Any advice I noticed you have a nano reef? Could you tell me a bit more on how to upkeep on smaller aquariums and any other info?

Research research and more research is probably the best advice.

Smaller tanks essentially magnify any problems you'd have due to the size, so water quality is essential. However, with frequent water changes and a little more effort, it's working wonderfully. It's just a matter of staying on top of your tank and keeping an eye on anyting that would become problematic.

Better to research now, and know everything before you start than get started and realize you don't know something crucial.

yeah, like that the fish go in AFTER the water.