Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-14-2010, 04:28 PM   #121
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jereli's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 431
as well as chaeto..
__________________

__________________
Jereli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2010, 06:11 PM   #122
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
no, sand is not necessary at all to grow pods and macro algae. i do think a sand bed is good to have in a refugium though...even a shallow one.
you might want to do some research on deep sand beds. they have a controversial filtration aspect that is worth checking out.

the best place for a DSB is in the refugium. this way, if you needed to disconnect it from the main display for some reason, you could quite easily.
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2010, 09:03 PM   #123
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jereli's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 431
yea i been reading..there is alot of controversial stuff on deep sand beds but maybe i can just use the chaeto and some live rock in my fuge for copepods with out the sand then..
__________________
Jereli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2010, 10:19 PM   #124
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jereli's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 431
so this is what i was able to come up with at almost completion of my sump setup once my skimmer is broken in and begins running better.. i found it fairly hard to drill through the acrylic with a hole saw..its pretty tough stuff
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC02129.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	180.9 KB
ID:	26044   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC02134.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	200.9 KB
ID:	26045  

__________________
Jereli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2010, 07:36 AM   #125
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
looks good from what i can see. i don't think you needed the ball valve on the drain though- as soon as you turn the power off that should stop draining, or shortly after. did you do a power outage simulation to see where it left the level of your sump?
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2010, 09:32 AM   #126
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jereli's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 431
Yea I wasn't sure if my return pump was gonna be fast enough for the drain so I just figure I put it and for when I do maintnace and stuff I can just stop it from draining all into my sump..No I haven't tested that but my sump will hold about 4 more gallons from what I calculated and my tank will drain about two gallons into my sump before stopping.. Was calculated using this formula L x W x H / 231 = gallons
__________________
Jereli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2010, 09:51 AM   #127
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jereli's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 431
Well no sorry not only 2 gallons.. 2 gallons plus whatever my drain holds.. I will try today after work to really make sure
__________________
Jereli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2010, 10:32 AM   #128
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
DSB in a refugium is a non-starter. It's not large enough to offer any benefit. Unless your refugium is a kiddie pool in the basement filled with several species of macro and all sorts of life. I know a hobbyist in the Philly area who has this setup and occasionally sells detrivore kits on eBay.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2010, 11:48 AM   #129
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jereli's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 431
Oh I see so it should be just fine with some chaeto and live rock in my fuge then correct? No substrate is really needed then..i have about 2 inches my my display tank of sand
__________________
Jereli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 12:10 AM   #130
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
your return pump dictates how much water is draining out of the display, not the drain pipe. whatever water is pushed up the return, is exactly how much will fall down the drain.
many people have DSBs in their refugiums and they work quite well. it's an excellent place for it actually. what makes you think it's not beneficial?
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
setup, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sump setup.. h8z2luze Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 08-26-2009 05:39 AM
Tank/Sump Setup theotheragentm DIY Projects 7 02-05-2009 06:39 PM
Help with Cichlid Sump setup tonhe General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 12-01-2008 08:50 PM
Sump setup ideas? mrouff Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 5 01-11-2007 07:12 PM
Sump Setup David03 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 06-01-2005 03:18 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.