Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-24-2010, 06:25 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oxford,England
Posts: 1,384
There's a few pics in my profile as well.I also use an eshopps 800 gph sython overflow,its a nice piece of kit.
__________________

__________________
Old Chinese proverb:
Don't go to bed with ichy bum
wake up with smelly finger!!
David S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 07:21 PM   #12
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,667
Its design is based on the needs of the tank and the equipment you will be running.

You can definitely run carbon (although many people recommend not to unless it is demonstrated to be needed). You can put it in a filter bag and drop it in the sump or put it in a reactor. I have one reactor full of it to help clean the water before it gets to the GFO and purigen.
__________________

__________________
Fishguy2727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 10:20 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jereli's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 431
the links provided above gave me alot of information to building a sump so i think i will attemp to build 20 gallon long sump since i have an old 20 gallon laying around. will a 20 gallon long be okay as sump for a 60 gallon?.. i been looking at the eshobbs and the 800 gph seems about the best choice for a 60 gallon..i am asumming i will only need one correct? so now my next step would to find a return pump to match 800 gph?
__________________
Jereli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 10:29 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jereli's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 431
or would that overflow of 800gph be overkill on my 60 gallon since its rated for up to 125 gallon tanks..or would the 300 gph be just as fine since its rated for up to 75 gallon tanks?
__________________
Jereli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 10:33 PM   #15
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,667
Base the overflow box on the actual flow the return pump from the sump will provide. I use the 300 with no problems. You actually want the flow through the sump to be relatively low so that the water has time to be cleaned.

The bigger the sump the better. I would get the biggest tank you can fit under the display.

Check that the 20 is not too wide. I had to go with a ten gallon sump since I didn't have enough width in the stand to go an wider.
__________________
Fishguy2727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 10:57 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jereli's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 431
So then does that mean I can go with the eshobbs overflow 300gph and a return pump of atleast 300 gph for my 60 gallon aquarium? So its basically As long as the gph on my overflow and return pump match correct?
__________________
Jereli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 11:17 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jereli's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 431
I will measure my 20 gallon to see if it would fit...i was looking into the eshobbs 300gph with a Quiet One 2200 pump rated at 296gph... Or eshobbs 800gph with Rio 2500 Plus pump which is rated at 782gph.. Are any of these setups good?
__________________
Jereli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 03:58 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oxford,England
Posts: 1,384
I would stick with the 800,You ideally want 10x60(dt)gph for turnover,you can quite easily set you sump up with 2 flows from your dt to your sump so you have slow flow through fuge and high flow to the rest of your sump,if your not using a fuge then have high flow through out.I have a 60g (uk) tank and 2 sumps with 800gph going to my sumps,around 35% goes to the sump with chaeto and the rest to my other sump housing skimmer,heater,and return pump.
__________________
Old Chinese proverb:
Don't go to bed with ichy bum
wake up with smelly finger!!
David S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 04:22 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jereli's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 431
If I use one eshobbs overflow of 800gph will that that rio pump work well or what kind of pump would be best suited for that overflow
__________________
Jereli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2010, 07:38 PM   #20
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2,667
Remember that you lose a lot of flow with height. I have a Rio 2100 on my 45 with the 300gph overflow with no problems. Most pumps will have a shart showing the flow rate of the pump at different pump heights.

I would have low flow through the sump either way. It is most critical for the fuge, but High flow through the whole thing will just blast water right past all your filtration. If you have enough flow for a reef in a given sie tank and have all of that flow coming from a sump a fraction of the size, that sump is going to have massive amounts of flow. The only reason I would have all the flow in the display provided by the return pump from the sump is if it is a really nice show tank (like in an office or retail store) and you don't even want one pump inside the display.
__________________

__________________
Fishguy2727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
setup, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sump setup.. h8z2luze Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 08-26-2009 05:39 AM
Tank/Sump Setup theotheragentm DIY Projects 7 02-05-2009 06:39 PM
Help with Cichlid Sump setup tonhe General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 12-01-2008 08:50 PM
Sump setup ideas? mrouff Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 5 01-11-2007 07:12 PM
Sump Setup David03 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 06-01-2005 03:18 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.