Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 02-04-2016, 12:02 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak

New SW tank size

Hey guys I'm new to SW tanks. I currently have a FW 36g but was curious as to what size would be realistic for someone who is new to SW. Any input and advice would be greatly appreciated, as well as any product recommendations.

Old 02-04-2016, 03:03 PM   #2

As big as you can afford. the same theory applies to salt as fresh, more water less headache. But in the case of marine, the bigger can mean more expensive. Ive kept everything from a 10 gal. nano to a 150 gal. reef.

Old 02-04-2016, 06:23 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadow Bass View Post
As big as you can afford. the same theory applies to salt as fresh, more water less headache. But in the case of marine, the bigger can mean more expensive. Ive kept everything from a 10 gal. nano to a 150 gal. reef.

Thank you for the input I would like to do maybe a 50 gallon to start off with but I wasn't sure as too if that would be too small as I'm new to SW. I mean I would love to have a 200g tank but right now it's just not realistic
Old 02-05-2016, 02:29 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak

Would I be able to do a lot with a 55g tank or would that still be small for most SW fish. I know clowns and tanks are supposed to have a lot of room that is why I ask
Old 02-05-2016, 09:33 AM   #5