New tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

NeoCatsy

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hello, I just bought a 70 gallon glass bow front tank from a friend. He also included a filter looks a little used, and a strip light with florescent bulbs. I am new to this . I bought a book called Saltwater aquariums for dummies. (ie: me) I am considering putting in a canister filter. However I am on a budget. So it will be a while before it is up and running. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Also, I need to clean it. There is salt on it. What can i use to clean the inside and out that won't hurt and leave a residue. Someone suggested vinegar and water????????

Cat

Vinegar and water will remove the calcium buildup. Also soat that filter in it to. Then just rinse well. Any type of light would be Okay for a Fish Only tank. If you want to do corals, well that's another story. What type of lights do you have, wattage, length, make? When you get that done. Look at the sticky's on this site and read up on the setup and how to get started.
Also remember "Google is your friend".
Welcome to the site...
img_992323_0_9d250f240c9f2c6aa31924497c7e2a7d.gif

When I clean a tank I use a couple caps of bleach in a bucket of water. I wash the tank and then rinse real good. I allow the tank to air dry completely dry. Any chlorine will disapate when completely dried. For good measure run some dechlorinator in the tank when you fill it up.

Hey Cat;