Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-18-2011, 11:14 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: long island, ny
Posts: 18
New Tank Cycle

Hi my friend is in the processing of cycling a 65g saltwater tank. I persuaded him to use a fishless cycle. In testing he has not yet received an ammonia reading. I do not understand. I used only 1 large shrimp in my 75g and received ammonia readings.

He used 2 shrimp, added on Wednesday, and still no reading.

Should he add more shrimp or are we jumping the gun?

Also his setup include about 30lb of live rock. It had some cool things growing on in and it was transported in water from the tank he got it from.

Thanks in advance.
__________________

__________________
fcastrofilippo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2011, 11:27 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 163
I would give it a little more time. Did you toss it in the tank or are you using a mesh bag to hang it in there. It proably wont hurt to throw another shrimp in but probably not necessary. Also he may need more live rock. Rule of thumb is 1 pound per gallon. More if possible
__________________

__________________
ronk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2011, 11:28 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 163
Also what kind of test kit are you using. Strips sometimes aren't as accurate as liquid
__________________
ronk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2011, 11:36 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: long island, ny
Posts: 18
Just threw them in. I told him he needs more rock. I do not think he is using the strips, I will double check.
__________________
fcastrofilippo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
starting a second tank. Speed up cycle w/ first tank water? turbovr6 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 11-28-2007 12:11 PM
New Tank Instantly at CYCLE level equal to other tank SKEET Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 07-09-2006 10:12 PM
Cycle-- How do YOU Cycle your tank? DragonFish Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 16 01-02-2006 12:02 AM
New tank: jump start cycle with bio wheel in existing tank? twestrope Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 4 11-02-2005 04:54 PM
To cycle or not to cycle.... (2-gallon tank) fearlessfisch Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 10-17-2004 01:34 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.