new tank cycling

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

LeeSweeney

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am very new to marine fishkeeping. I have a 35ltr/10 gal setup. It is a biube tank that i have converted to saltwater. I use RSO (i think) water that i buy from my local fish shop. It will be a fish only tank which i have stocked with cured live rock. It has been running for about 4 weeks and it currently houses 3 hermit crabs and 2 snails. The ammonia spike has been present for about 2 weeks with now signs of change. Has anyone any idea how long it should take to drop back to 0 to complete the first stage of my tanks cycle?

I was advised to add clean up crew by my local fish shop but since viewing other posts i an now worried that with the ammonia spiking for this long they may come to some harm. However all looks well on the face of it.

Any advice or pointers in the right direction are greatly welcomed and appreciated.

while doing a cycle its best to have no live stock but since you do and your ammonia is up try adding prime it makes the ammonia less toxic to live stock

Yes i did more about a 25% water change recently not much differance to be honest. I plan to pick up some more water from my lfs over the weekend and do another change to try and keep my ammonia levels safer

I had advice to do very regular water changes to keep ammonia levels down and to stop any harm coming to my cuc. I am interested to find out more about prime though i dont really know what this is.

Once the ammonia converts to nitrites and the nitrites convert to nitrates your inverts may die but you can buy and add the bacteria in a bottle to speed up the process