Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-08-2003, 05:31 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Mankato MN
Posts: 863
Send a message via MSN to gooyferret Send a message via Yahoo to gooyferret
NEW TANK need help plz!!

I just setup a 58gal, with a 20gal sump, five days ago and tested the water today. My PH level is at 8.2, amonia is 1.0, nitrite 0, and nitrate 0. Im jus wondering if these are good results for the time it has been set up? Another question i have is my overflow box is a CPR 300gph, and my return pump is a rio 2100. For some reason it seems that my overflow and return pump fluxuate on speed of draining and returning the water, but i cant figure out why? For example, i can turn down the flow for my return pump, and the overflow will be fine, then for some reason it seems to not syphon as much, why is this? Another question is a overflow box supose to have a little air inside or not, because i can seem to get all the air out?

thats all for now, thats for looking and leave a reply plz i need help on this, the sump is being a major pain!
__________________

__________________
gooyferret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2003, 12:15 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
IF you have fish then an ammonia level of 1.0 is notgood. Do a 20% water change as soon as you have newly mixed saltwater ready (remember to allow 24 hours for the salt to properly mix).

Sure this will prolong your cycle to some degree but it could also safe the fish's life.

At the specific head height your 2100 is working at what is its flow in GPH? For example if you pump has to push the water up 4' then whats RIO say the flow on the 2100 is at 4'? If its above 300GPH then you have a problem because the pump would be filling the tank faster than the overflow could drain. I dont use CPR overflows for the very reason your citing. Some have a problem with them maintaning syphon. Do you have the recommended powerhead on the overflow?

CPR recommends a powerhead to be attached to the overflow to 'maintain' syphon and to help keep the air out. Air is the worst thing you can have i nyour overflow because thats what will kill your syphon.

IF the flow is to slow thru the overflow air will accumulate so its better to run the overflow close to the 300GPH speed than at a speed alot slower.
__________________

__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2003, 08:20 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Mankato MN
Posts: 863
Send a message via MSN to gooyferret Send a message via Yahoo to gooyferret
how do you determine the actual feet for the return pump? i have 2 90 degree turns and 2 45degree?? And gentlemen at the fish store told me the reason the amonia is at 1.0 is because the live rock hasnt started to process te amonia?

thanks plz reply
__________________
" 'TAP TAP TAP'...Here fishy fishy fishy"
gooyferret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2003, 08:55 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
What size is your return plumbing?

I have heard of some kind of head pressure calculator over at reefcentral.com

If the live rock was cured then it should have been able to process the ammonia right off the bat.

How many lbs of rock do you have?
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2003, 09:00 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Mankato MN
Posts: 863
Send a message via MSN to gooyferret Send a message via Yahoo to gooyferret
i have about 50.bs of live rock, my return plumbing is 3/4in. I bought the aquarium and live rock from a guy privatly, he said that he kept the live rock wet but what is cured? what can i use in the tank to maybe help the live rock?
__________________
" 'TAP TAP TAP'...Here fishy fishy fishy"
gooyferret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2003, 09:21 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Mankato MN
Posts: 863
Send a message via MSN to gooyferret Send a message via Yahoo to gooyferret
i went to reef central but their calc must not work right!?? i was told that a 90d angle is 1 foot, and 45degree is .5ft and i have about 3.5 ft vertical is that right?
__________________
" 'TAP TAP TAP'...Here fishy fishy fishy"
gooyferret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2003, 09:30 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
cured live rock is simply live rock that is in a position to act as a biological filter. If rock is not cured that means that the rock itself is producing ammonia.

There is much more living on/in these rocks than simple bactera and corals. Some of the creatures who make the rock their home can die durring transportation and thus the decay and product ammonia. Once this has ended OR once the rock has enough bactera population the ammonia levels being produced by the rock are zeroed out.

If this rock was purchased locally and was kept wet as it was moved from his tank to yours and the net time it was out of proper saltwater was short then there should be minimal to no dieoff from the rock. If the amount of time the rock was out of tank conditions was longer than a short period then there could be some degree of dieoff.

How long was the rock out of his tank before it was in your tank.
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2003, 09:51 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Mankato MN
Posts: 863
Send a message via MSN to gooyferret Send a message via Yahoo to gooyferret
well part of it was kept wet and some was a little outta the water during transport...i would have to guess for about 30min. my overflow and sump seem to be running correctly now (i hope anyway) what can i do is there anything i can buy it seems that the live rock is fine though it has growth on it...let me know what i can do thanks!
__________________
" 'TAP TAP TAP'...Here fishy fishy fishy"
gooyferret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2003, 09:54 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Mankato MN
Posts: 863
Send a message via MSN to gooyferret Send a message via Yahoo to gooyferret
by the way i have 3/4in return pipe how big of a difference would it make if i used 1/2in?
__________________
" 'TAP TAP TAP'...Here fishy fishy fishy"
gooyferret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2003, 10:04 PM   #10
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
I dont think you want to drop down to 1/2" for a few reasons.

First the smaller the size you use the more of a effect the 90's and 45's will have on flow. Plus there is a limited amount of fluid you can push thru a pipe of a specific size. You can get more water thru a 3/4" than you can 1/2" simply due to physics.

The rio 2100 is not a pressure rated pump so putting back pressure on the pump could shorten its life aswell.
__________________

__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Tank and High Levels.. plz help BrandonMD Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 6 03-17-2006 05:04 PM
Starting A New Tank , Need Help Plz Tito2491 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 02-18-2005 06:34 PM
got my tank running have a few quick questions.... plz Jonathan G. Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 02-13-2005 09:55 PM
Starting a 10-20gl qt tank NEED HELP PLZ Jonathan G. Nano Reefs 1 01-18-2005 09:23 AM
I just setup new tank tell me what i need to improve plz!!! gooyferret Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 06-07-2003 12:31 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.