Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-28-2011, 05:13 PM   #291
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ricksreef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newport News
Posts: 1,109
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kio707
I just did my parameters test and my ph is 8.0.... Usually it's 8.2-8.4. Trites- 0, amonia- 0, and trates 5..... Is this bad?
What is your calcium and alk?Usually if you keep them right your PH is not a problem.
__________________

__________________
Ricksreef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2011, 05:24 PM   #292
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Kio707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 4,519
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricksreef

What is your calcium and alk?Usually if you keep them right your PH is not a problem.
Yeah, u got me on that one. I only have an API master kit. Does the basics. Ph, amo, trites, and trates. I get a better kit on the 1st, has it all... Only thing different is I added LR... Other then that, no changes. I use to dose with a 2 part Kent cal. I ran out. Maybe I need to go get more???
__________________

__________________
Kio707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2011, 05:24 PM   #293
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Kio707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 4,519
Quote:
Originally Posted by huma-huma
Theres truly prob a dozen possibilities. Higher than normal air exchange/circulation. Low buffer level issues. Those are a few
Man, this is like a puzzle every day... Lol
__________________
Kio707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2011, 08:02 PM   #294
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ricksreef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newport News
Posts: 1,109
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kio707

Yeah, u got me on that one. I only have an API master kit. Does the basics. Ph, amo, trites, and trates. I get a better kit on the 1st, has it all... Only thing different is I added LR... Other then that, no changes. I use to dose with a 2 part Kent cal. I ran out. Maybe I need to go get more???
No you need to get calcium and alk test kits,and check your levels.Don't add any supplements for calcium until you can test.
__________________
Ricksreef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2011, 08:14 PM   #295
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Kio707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 4,519
K. I'll have them on the 1st...
__________________
Kio707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2011, 11:52 PM   #296
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Kio707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 4,519
Got another question. Found a 125 gal tank, thinking of up grading. 1) would a 75 gal sump work with it or do I need bigger? 2) how do I transfer everything? 3) does the new tank need to cycle too?
__________________
Kio707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2011, 12:23 AM   #297
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
huma-huma's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: washington Pa
Posts: 5,257
Go for it, general rule of thumb is go as big as you can afford. And a 75 g sump would be sufficient
__________________
my 125g Sw...Round 2!http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...220171-33.html
ever see someone cut a 125g in half??
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...-286438-4.html
huma-huma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2011, 12:26 AM   #298
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
coffeetwitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: springfield mo
Posts: 3,690
I want a 75 gallon sump for my 75 gallon dt
__________________
coffeetwitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2011, 12:37 AM   #299
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Kio707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 4,519
Well, that's one question answered... Lol... What about the other two?
__________________
Kio707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2011, 12:43 AM   #300
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
huma-huma's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: washington Pa
Posts: 5,257
Id prob get the new tank in place, fill with new sw, let it stabilize, place lr in it,drain old tank to 40-50% place livestock in holding tank/buket, drain remaining water, remove sand,clean thoroughly , place sand into new tank,then lr tgen acclimate...ta da!! Sorry if its a little lengthy but I tried to keep it short
__________________

__________________
my 125g Sw...Round 2!http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...220171-33.html
ever see someone cut a 125g in half??
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...-286438-4.html
huma-huma is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PH advice & CO2 - Planted Discus Tank - Tap water is 8.4! sudz Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 10 01-18-2012 10:07 AM
Starting a feeder tank. Advice wanted. meBNme Freshwater & Brackish - Breeding 3 10-02-2011 06:23 PM
Need advice for a 30 gallon tank Adi_Indian Member Introductions 9 09-25-2011 04:56 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.