New Tank Properties

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Spootz

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello All,

I am new to Saltwater aquariums, much like anyone else in this section I guess :p After looking around the forums I have decided to make a thread. I just want some confirmation that my tank is heading in the right direction in regards to water quality.

The tank is roughly 200L in volume and has 15kg of live rock in it. I understand now, that as a new tank it should not have had the live rock added yet. As this has already happened, I am told that it should be okay once the chemicals in the water even out.

The hardware in the tank is as follows:

- There are two circulation pumped (one at either end) <-- Oddly strong (Issue?)
- Heater (Reasonable size)
- Skimmer (Pretty Big)
- Light

forumpost.jpg

Can someone let me know if this is on the right track? Each of the tests were performed roughly two days apart and the water is roughly 2 weeks old with a single 30% water cycle.

Thanks in advanced.
:hide:

I don't know how to link a thread but go to freshwater getting started and there are good advice on fish less cycles, the cycle works the same for salt water. What are you using for an ammonia source?
Supra

I think the ammonia is from the original fresh water? I'm not really sure if it is that, or some decay caused by the breaking down from some of the worms that were in the living rock.

Will the bacteria be able to convert that much ammonia or?