Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-11-2006, 01:20 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 721
Send a message via Yahoo to ace1uno_00
New Tank set up and Questions.

I set up my 58 gallon oceanic tank a few days ago. It has the overflow in the back center.
I have the water flowing down to a Pro Clear aquatics 150 wet/dry with a Rio 2500 running the skimmer and a Mag Drive 9.5 returning the water.

My question is, Why can't the water flow coming from the overflow keep up with my mag drive?
I have the Valve all the way open coming from the over flow and only using half of the potential of the return pump. Its not creating the high flow i wanted in my tank.
whats the deal?

thanks guys.
__________________

__________________
For Sale: Brand New Filstar XP3. In Box w/extra Media. $80 obo shipped.
Ace1uno_00@yahoo.com
ace1uno_00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2006, 01:21 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 721
Send a message via Yahoo to ace1uno_00
didn't let me post pics. will try again on different format.
__________________

__________________
For Sale: Brand New Filstar XP3. In Box w/extra Media. $80 obo shipped.
Ace1uno_00@yahoo.com
ace1uno_00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2006, 01:33 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 721
Send a message via Yahoo to ace1uno_00
Pic
Attached Images
File Type: jpg sump0.jpg (162.1 KB, 54 views)
File Type: jpg tank0.jpg (149.0 KB, 43 views)
__________________
For Sale: Brand New Filstar XP3. In Box w/extra Media. $80 obo shipped.
Ace1uno_00@yahoo.com
ace1uno_00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2006, 10:03 AM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
From what I’ve read the overflow is 1” which should give you 600 gph. Your Mag 9.5 does 800 gph at 4’ so I would expect it not to keep up at full power. That said this guy has the same setup and doesn’t mention having to limit the output of his Mag 9.5 so I’m kind of at a loss since you are using half the return power of the Mag 9.5. He does run it through his skimmer first so that might be it.

Even 600 gph would just barely give you the turnover you need on the tank (10+X) so it looks like you will have to supplement with either a closed loop system or with an additional ph or two in the tank.
__________________
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2006, 05:00 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 721
Send a message via Yahoo to ace1uno_00
yeah that is my set up. but why is my flow so restricted. could it be that i'm using silicone hose instead of PVC pipe?

I do not want to have power heads in my tank. i want a nice clean show look.
any ideas or adice to increas the flow down to the sump?
__________________
For Sale: Brand New Filstar XP3. In Box w/extra Media. $80 obo shipped.
Ace1uno_00@yahoo.com
ace1uno_00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2006, 05:19 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Piedmont, NC
Posts: 4,580
Actually silicon hose with smooth bends should have less resistance than PVC.
Quote:
I do not want to have power heads in my tank. i want a nice clean show look.
I accomplished this with a closed loop and loc-line fittings. Works great. Only other option you have is to increase the overflow bulkhead size.
__________________
*The fact that no one understands you doesn't make you an artist.
*If guns kill people...Spoons make Michael Moore fat.
Brenden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2006, 05:59 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 280
I do not know of a way to make your overflow drain more than what you are getting from it now, unless there is some restriction somewhere. Otherwis you have two choices. 1 is to simply add an external overflow. The second is to add a closed loop for more current in the tank. This is the route I am going to take. If done right the loop will be invisible, except for the return nozzles. Check out this site for ideas on the closed loop: http://www.oceansmotions.com/

To change the overflow bulkhead size you will need to break down the tank and have the hole in the glass made larger risking breaking the tank. Not a choice as far as I am concerned.
__________________
Macrosill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2006, 09:38 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 721
Send a message via Yahoo to ace1uno_00
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macrosill
To change the overflow bulkhead size you will need to break down the tank and have the hole in the glass made larger risking breaking the tank. Not a choice as far as I am concerned.
I agree completely.
I do have a slight bend in the hose going to the sump. I will try to straighten it out.
That oceansmotion stuff is way nice but, kinda pricey.
Would i need a sperate pump to run the closed loop?

Brenden, do you have a pic or sketch on how you created your closed loop?
Thanks guys.
__________________
For Sale: Brand New Filstar XP3. In Box w/extra Media. $80 obo shipped.
Ace1uno_00@yahoo.com
ace1uno_00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2006, 11:10 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 721
Send a message via Yahoo to ace1uno_00
ok i increased the flow in the tank some.
what i did is decrease the bend in the hose goin to the sump and lowered the adjustable pipe in the overflow section as low as it can go. i have great surface agitation now. I guess if i get a high current anemone then i'll just get a ph then but i really dont want phs in my tank...
but anyother suggestions to increase flow?
__________________
For Sale: Brand New Filstar XP3. In Box w/extra Media. $80 obo shipped.
Ace1uno_00@yahoo.com
ace1uno_00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2006, 01:41 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 280
A closed loop will need a seperate pump. The oceanmotions stuff is pricey buy there a pics of some setups and it is a nice place to get some ideas.
__________________

__________________
Good Luck,
Brian
Macrosill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
set up, tan, tank set up

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Questions About Tank Set-up In Progress Boulder Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 22 07-05-2009 10:48 PM
New tank set-up questions LubeyIFT Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 03-03-2007 03:10 PM
just set up new tank, questions omegasupreme Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 10 01-09-2007 12:27 PM
Questions Before Tank Set-up Satsumas Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 11 11-10-2006 05:27 AM
a few quick questions before i set up my 75 gl tank Jonathan G. Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 01-08-2005 11:32 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.