Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-01-2012, 06:06 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Krocky12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: illionis
Posts: 319
That's what I'm doing I got he more else test kit after my diatoms and before I got a fish
__________________

__________________
Krocky12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 06:44 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Wilkes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 238
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrc8858
Do not just use tap water conditioned because you will more then likely have a terrible algae outbreak and will only cause problems and also never use strips for a SW tank...parameters have to be kept in check more so then a FW so accuracy to your test is key..as for your setup it could be done with a HOB filter, a powerhead, heater, and live rock (substrate is optional)

Edit*and for a skimmer I wouldn't even use one until your over 30 gallons
What's a hob filter? Can you use the built in jewel pump and filters?
__________________

__________________
Wilkes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 06:46 PM   #13
Dividing by 0
Community Admin
 
fort384's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 13,926
HOB = Hang On Back.

FYI for all, for a lot of common aquarium related abbreviations, if you hover your mouse over the abbreviation, it will tell you what it is short for.
fort384 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 07:03 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Wilkes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 238
Quote:
Originally Posted by fort384
HOB = Hang On Back.

FYI for all, for a lot of common aquarium related abbreviations, if you hover your mouse over the abbreviation, it will tell you what it is short for.
I'm using the app on my iPhone so I don't have that luxury unfortunately but Thankyou for your help. If I have time after work at some point this week I will have a look at the LFS get some pricing ideas. So the check list for so far is a HOB filter, power head, salt, RO water, sand and Live rock
__________________
Wilkes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 07:08 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mrc8858's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5,834
Ya and a powerstrip ...really though you should look into a rodi unit they really aren't too expensive and are worth every penny
__________________
Mrc8858 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 07:48 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Krocky12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: illionis
Posts: 319
Ya power strips is very helpful
__________________
Krocky12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 02:40 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Wilkes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 238
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrc8858
Ya and a powerstrip ...really though you should look into a rodi unit they really aren't too expensive and are worth every penny
Haha what's that? And powerstrip?
__________________
Wilkes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 08:08 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Krocky12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: illionis
Posts: 319
A power strip is like an extension of ur electrical cord and instead of having like 6 or 7 on separate outlets u have a powerstrip were the 6 or 7 outleta r on it and it only uses one out let and ro/Di is reverse osmosis and deionized
__________________
Krocky12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 08:37 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Wilkes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 238
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krocky12
A power strip is like an extension of ur electrical cord and instead of having like 6 or 7 on separate outlets u have a powerstrip were the 6 or 7 outleta r on it and it only uses one out let and ro/Di is reverse osmosis and deionized
Argh I get you now a multi socket plug. We have a huge RO plant at work hmmm. If not how do you go about water changes if your not supposed to use tap water... Go to the Lfs and stock pile water ?
__________________
Wilkes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 09:07 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mrc8858's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5,834
Either buy the water by the gallon as pure RO water, buy premixed saltwater, or buy an Ro/Di and mix your own(most cost effective and no emergency trips for top off water)
__________________

__________________
Mrc8858 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
new tank setup, salt, saltwater, setup, tan, tank setup

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kio707 tank 2.0 Kio707 Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 585 06-10-2012 11:04 PM
my first cichlid tank need some help anikonslr Cichlid Discussion 45 04-17-2012 05:39 PM
NOOB alert! Buying a co2 tank today.... Jill DIY Projects 14 04-02-2012 11:22 AM
My 1st ever saltwater tank! mrwizard Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 14 04-01-2012 11:28 AM
Trying to upload pics on iPad Trena Forum Admin & Announcements 4 04-01-2012 11:27 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.