New Tank started by a n00b

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

surjer

Aquarium Advice Activist
Well, you guys have helped me TONS with my fw tank so here goes with the new sw tank. I have just a 20gal tank that I started up last night. I bought this live sand stuff for my substraight and then filled the tank with sw. Once I added the water it stured up the sand and made a nice muddy mess. The tank has not calmed down at all. My fresh water tank did this because I added too many fish all at the same time and created a bacteria bloom. I am wondering if the new sw tank is experiencing the same backteria bloom. My real question is should I have something in the tank like some shrimp or lr during this process? I wouldnt think so but I would hate to waste a cycle if thats what its doing.

Sorry guys, I am VERY VERY new to sw and I really have no idea what I am doing. Thats why I am not investing in the big tank yet. I figured I could torture this 20 gallon for a bit... (NO FISH YET) I heard it can take up to 2-3 months to stabalize the sw tank...

Thanks in advance...

Jerry

surjer said:
Well, you guys have helped me TONS with my fw tank so here goes with the new sw tank. I have just a 20gal tank that I started up last night. I bought this live sand stuff for my substraight and then filled the tank with sw. Once I added the water it stured up the sand and made a nice muddy mess. The tank has not calmed down at all. My fresh water tank did this because I added too many fish all at the same time and created a bacteria bloom. I am wondering if the new sw tank is experiencing the same backteria bloom. My real question is should I have something in the tank like some shrimp or lr during this process? I wouldnt think so but I would hate to waste a cycle if thats what its doing.