Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-20-2006, 11:43 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tyler, TX
Posts: 49
new tank syndrome???

hi. i don't know if you remember my post about a week ago about my new setup, but i but seem to be having a brown algea problem. it is on the cc and rocks. i checked everything and everything is 0 (nitrate, nitrite, ammonia, phosphate), pH is 8.4, and my salinity is about 1.021 (probably going to bring this up a bit). could i not have enough water movement? or would it be from using a new tank? i did take out a lot of the cc, that i will change to sand when i have enough $$$. i'm a little stumped, please help. thanks again
__________________

__________________
crook280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 11:46 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hackteck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,628
Send a message via AIM to hackteck
all new tanks have brown diatom it usually ends they say in about 2 weeks or so nothing to worry about
__________________

__________________
hackteck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 11:50 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tyler, TX
Posts: 49
well the only thing that is new is the glass tank itself. i have the fish, inverts, corals and everything that a took out of the undrilled tank and put in the drilled tank. i figured it would be alright but i didn't want to take any chances. thanks for the quick reply
__________________
crook280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 12:13 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hackteck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,628
Send a message via AIM to hackteck
how long has the new tank been setup?
__________________
hackteck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 12:51 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tyler, TX
Posts: 49
i changed tanks last weekend. but before i did that i started seeing the diatom algea show up in my established tank. this is why i'm stumped.
__________________
crook280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 01:20 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hackteck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,628
Send a message via AIM to hackteck
are you using ro/di water or tap? alot of members use ro/di water because some city tap water is a source of phosphates
__________________
hackteck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 03:02 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Debary, Florida
Posts: 512
When you stir up an established tank (especially by moving it from one tank to another), you are apt to see a mini-cycle, which seems like what you are experiencing.
__________________
AndyH5512 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 05:22 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Piedmont, NC
Posts: 4,580
You were probably starting to get excess nutrients in your old tank. When you moved it just stirred it up as Andy suggested. Best thing it to do a few WC's with good RO/DI water to remove the nutrients.
__________________
*The fact that no one understands you doesn't make you an artist.
*If guns kill people...Spoons make Michael Moore fat.
Brenden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 06:19 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tyler, TX
Posts: 49
i use the water at walmart (.33 per gal), i think it's just RO not sure. i want to get one of the RO/DI filters from melev's website, are they good? but i need the money and don't know if i wouldbe able to set it up in an apartment. anyways i wasn't too worried, just trying to see if i did something wrong and need to fix it. thanks everyone
__________________
crook280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2006, 10:58 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tyler, TX
Posts: 49
i talked to someone about my problem and they suggested that my PC lights are probably old. She said i should replace them about every 7 months or so. they've been running for a year now. could that be the culprite? my corals aren't looking so good either. i ordered another bulb. is that as often as i should replace them? thanks
__________________

__________________
crook280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
new tank syndrome, syndrome, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
old tank syndrome? matthewvl Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 10 02-23-2007 08:35 AM
old tank syndrome troutman11111 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 03-10-2006 06:22 PM
Old Tank Syndrome azn_fishy55 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 12-02-2005 05:17 PM
New Tank Syndrome bjm Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 02-20-2005 04:59 PM
LR, LS and Old Tank Syndrome SquishyFish Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 02-24-2004 10:52 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.