Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-21-2011, 09:16 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Northwest OH
Posts: 9
New to a reef tank

I NEED HELP. I have just set up a 90 gal. tank. I want to make it a reef w/ some fish tank. Small fish like mandarins, and other sm. things.
First the tank is up. The bottom is drilled, the plumbing is complete. I have a 29 gal. sump below. I have 8-4ft. t5 HO bulbs, all on timers(4 ea.X 2 timers), plus 2 sm. CFL's for night lighting. It has 5 in. of live carib-sea gravel. It has an undergravel plenum made of 1 in. PVC, and egg crate material, covered with screen material. With that, I have a 1in. lift tube in the opposite corner(opposite corner of the drilled overflo area) w/a powerhead. 2 Hydor powerheads in random areas to keep movement in all places in the tank. In the sump, I have a CA 3000 pump to return the water back to the tank. But that's it. I have a protein skimmer that I got from a friend, but he didn't know how it works, neither do I. It has a RIO 800 venturi powerhead attached to a tube coming out the side. Up aways is another tube with a strainer on it. The opening of the powerhead has 2 airline fittings on it. And it sits in the sump. That's all I know about it. Other than that the sump is empty. (with the exception of a Fluval "E" 300 wt. heater. What do I put in the sump. PLEASE HELP ME.
__________________

__________________
Matt K. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 11:03 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Just.A.Bit.Salty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Murrieta,CA
Posts: 294
Can you put a picture of your sump up? Most have protein skimmer in first section, LR in second section and return pump in third just for the basics
__________________

__________________
Just.A.Bit.Salty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 11:15 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Northwest OH
Posts: 9
I have no dividers in the sump. Just the items I told you about. I got this setup from a guy that I work withs wife, she had so many problems, she wanted out. They had well water, and the pet shop she bought from told her it was fine(the water stunk so bad of eggs), she wouldn't listen to anyone else. It is a 29 gal. tank.(312Xwhatever). Hope you can help me.
__________________
Matt K. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2011, 11:22 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Just.A.Bit.Salty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Murrieta,CA
Posts: 294
This might be a dumb question but do you already have water in the tank and sump. Can you pull the sump out so you can put some panels in the sump, as you should have sections to use the sump to the best of it's ability's. Sounds like all it is doing right is creating more water volume. Can you put a pic up of the protein skimmer or anything?
__________________
Just.A.Bit.Salty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 12:03 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Northwest OH
Posts: 9
I don't know how to put a pic. on this site. But I did take a pic. of the skimmer. As far as the sump goes, I put valves in the PVC lines, so there is no water in the sump. The tank is full, with the powerheads circulating the water.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	037.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	123.3 KB
ID:	29141  
__________________
Matt K. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
reef, reef tank, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is it possible to set up my 150 gallon tank as a FOWLR/Reef tank for under a grand? MTWiley Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 24 02-03-2011 04:50 PM
My First Reef Tank Nickotopolous Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 15 09-09-2009 10:33 AM
More tank inhabitants of my 125 g reef tank Acronuts Show Off/Photography 0 12-04-2008 12:42 AM
reef crystals vs. instant ocean for reef tank gatr_head Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 05-19-2005 11:50 AM
is this ok to use in a reef tank? first-timer89 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 11-17-2004 08:06 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.