Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-24-2014, 05:40 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 6
New to salt

Hey folks. I've had a 90 gallon freshwater tank for about 5 years and recently have started a saltwater tank. I have a 100 gallon tank drilled with a 55 gallon sump. I've had it up and running for about 1 month cycling. Yesterday morning ammonia 0 nitrite 0.25 nitrate 0. Last night I was at ammonia 0 nitrite 0 and nitrate 10. This afternoon I tested again and even got a new API test kit to make sure and everything is at 0. Tested multiple times with 2 different api kits. pH is at 8.2 and salinity is at 1.024. Has my cycle completed? I cycled with instant ocean bio-spira and also have 20 pounds of live sand in sumps refugium section with about 100 pounds of rock (not live but cured). There is no algae in the tank or sump. I let tank run for 2 p-3 weeks without protein skimmer and now I have a coral line 220g skimmer working well. Should I get a CUC even though nothing algae wise is visible? I been reading tons of stuff on net trying to figure it all out and figured I'd finally stop lurking and post. Tank is in a small bedroom and I cut a whole in wall and framed tank with moulding to create a picture frame around it. I can't wait to get fish in there but have been forcing myself to wait so I don't torture fish with bad water quality. Also forgot to add that all water in tank is from a spectra pure reef rodi filter system. Ay info, tips, and/or comments would be great. Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1393277786.711349.jpg
Views:	148
Size:	166.6 KB
ID:	224590
__________________

__________________
bigheadted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2014, 05:49 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Atlanta Area
Posts: 92
Did you put anything in the tank to create an ammonia load? I used a raw shrimp in my tank to get the cycle going and it worked well to get the desired spikes.

D
__________________

__________________
DRock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2014, 05:59 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 6
Only things I put in was instant ocean bio-spira and 20 lbs of live sand in sump
__________________
bigheadted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2014, 06:13 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Dav3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: California
Posts: 1,233
I would add an ammonia source just to make sure you are fully cycled.

You won't need a CUC if you keep nitrates and phosphates in check. They aren't necessary. They just recycle the nitrates and phosphates but don't actually remove them from the water column.
__________________
Dav3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 03:57 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 5
Right folks I need help. Had cold water for years moved to tropical but not as good to look at as salt so I want to have a go. I have a spare setup for tropical only a small 70 litre tank, and I'm wondering if it's possible to convert to a wee nano tank. Thinking of fish with live rock but that's as far as I get. Any advice in what I can salvage or anything else I need would be greatly appreciated.
__________________
meudell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 04:18 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Atlanta Area
Posts: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by meudell View Post
Right folks I need help. Had cold water for years moved to tropical but not as good to look at as salt so I want to have a go. I have a spare setup for tropical only a small 70 litre tank, and I'm wondering if it's possible to convert to a wee nano tank. Thinking of fish with live rock but that's as far as I get. Any advice in what I can salvage or anything else I need would be greatly appreciated.
Your 70L is a great starter size for salt, to keep it simple with a FOWLR(Fish Only With Live Rock) all you need is a heater, about 20lbs of live rock, I would personally do a sand bed but you don't have to, a simple light, and 2 powerheads creating water flow in the tank. I'd say 2 of the Hydor Koralia Nanos would be plenty of flow to keep your water filtered nicely. There's a lot more you could add to it but that should be sufficient for a healthy tank.

Good luck,

D
__________________
DRock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 04:21 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 5
Hello there

I've read about skimmers and do I need any special lights?
__________________
meudell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 11:40 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Atlanta Area
Posts: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by meudell View Post
Hello there

I've read about skimmers and do I need any special lights?
If you plan on doing any corals or anemones than lights are a MUST, if not lights aren't as much of an issue of tank health as they are visual preference.

A skimmer is never a bad thing to add on to a tank from everything I've researched, but if you don't overfeed and you do regular water changes, they aren't a necessity. I have a few new friends at the LFS who have 10g, 20g, and 40g systems that don't have skimmers and are a few years old.

D
__________________
DRock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 06:47 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 6
Hey guys. Tank has been running now for about 45 days. It cycles and all levels are 0. I put two clownfish in yesterday at about 2pm est. I floate bag for 45 mins with lights off and then dripped it for a 1 hour 30 mins. Fish seem to be happy and swimming around. They do not leave each other side for more then a second or two. Woke up this morning and checked levels with two seperation API kits and all levels still @ 0. I'm being a little anal I guess but shouldn't the tank show some level variation.
__________________
bigheadted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 03:06 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Dav3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: California
Posts: 1,233
Maybe some nitrates if you fed them and/or they pooped. But not necessarily. Give it a few days and nitrates should go up a little.
__________________

__________________
Dav3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
salt

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is salt the same as salt the same as salt??? sushiluver Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 05-12-2006 01:06 AM
cycling new 10gal w/fish- salt or no salt sith j Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 4 04-02-2006 09:31 PM
Salt, Salt, or Salt? oh and PH fish_4_all Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 16 05-22-2005 05:50 PM
To Salt Or Not To Salt lurkershdw Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 6 09-06-2004 01:18 PM
To salt or not to salt? Aquarian Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 03-08-2004 01:50 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.