New to Salt Water with 75g

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tetrajoy

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hello! My name is Carissa, and I'm new to the hobby. I bought a new drilled 75g tank and custom cabinet from my LFS recently as well as the sump w/ bio balls, pump, and heater. I got a coralife CF lunar light fixture for Christmas. My husband pretty much did all the pluming himself in two days (with helpful forum tips and videos). We're going to be adding water tonight, and so excited to get everything up and running!

I know I'll need the following:

Protein skimmer(once cycled)
Salt (set up will be pre-mixed water from the LFS)
Live Sand(any suggestions?)
Live Rock (any suggestions?)

I want:
Maroon clown pair
Anemones
CUC
5 line wrasse

I plan on trying to get some Bio-spira to get it going quicker along with adding ammonia.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks ahead of time! :)

Hello, congrats on your new tank! Just keep in mind that Maroon Clownfish are very aggressive so they will be even more aggressive as a pair. :)

Welcome aboard!! :-D

I would hook up the skimmer anyway, it will need a week or two to break in so might as well start now.

I also think maroons will be a bit aggressive, but if thats what you want go for it.

Depending on the anemone(s) that you want you may need more light. Also there is no guarantee that the clowns will host it. It's also a really really good idea to have your tank setup for at least 6 months before adding one. They are very sensitive and need a seasoned tank.

Search for "Carissa Massago" on facebook and I have a public folder that has my pictures of the set up.