New to saltwater - 29g BioCube

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

shelby2185

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi there! I just wanted to introduce myself - I'm Melody, and I am new to saltwater aquariums. I have several years of experience with fw, but after much consideration I decided to take the plunge into the sw world! I have been following your posts for the past 2 weeks, and I already feel like I have learned so much. I recently setup a 29g BioCube and anxiously waiting to complete my first cycle. I know that there is a big debate on whether or not to add fish during your first cycle or not, but after discussing with 3 LFS and a few friends with sw setups I decided to purchase 3 damsels today. I bought a yellow tail, domino and a 3 stripe. They all seem to be doing well and eating great. My only concern so far is how aggressive the yellow tail damsel is...I was under the impression that the yellow tail was the least aggressive out of the 3. He seems to think he is the king of the cave, and has been picking on the other 2 fish. If he keeps it up I will be returning him.
Anyways, here is my setup:
Standard BioCube components
5 pounds of dry rock
25 pounds of live rock
20 pounds of live sand
3 damsels

I bought a UV sterilizer today, and I should be receiving it shortly. I plan on buying a little bit more live rock in the next couple weeks. I'm not sure if I want to buy a protein skimmer or not...probably will see how things go.

Eventually I would like to add some corals, but that will be a few months from now. :)

Attachments

• image-1946451690.jpg
    image-1946451690.jpg
    62.5 KB · Views: 72
I will try and post a video of the fish and tank later! :)

Not the best photos, but they will do for now.

Attachments

• image-1752651896.jpg
    image-1752651896.jpg
    46.4 KB · Views: 79
  • image-1000009890.jpg
    image-1000009890.jpg