New to saltwater

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

player676

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey there,

I'm very new to saltwater and I'm just getting started. I helped my cousin with his the past couple of years so I have some knowledge, but as my father says "a little knowledge is dangerous". I recently started the switch from freshwater to saltwater. I am going to stocking a 180g non-reef tank. Just live rock and fish. I read the thread on all of the materials I will need so that seems like a place to start there, but I would like some advice on live rock and fish.

1. Cured or non-cured live rock and is there a certain type I should be looking at? Also, is 180 lbs enough or should I go for more?

2. I definitely want a trigger - either a clown or assasi. I also want some kind of eel, but what type I am open to suggestions. I also like lionfish, but that's not a deal breaker. What else could I add to a 180g besides a trigger and eel.

3. How much sand should I have for this size tank?

4. Do I absolutely need a sump? I tried building one for my freshwater tank with disasterous results so if it's not totally necessary, I'd rather not try again.

5. Can I add all fish at once when tank is cycled or do I have to add one at a time over several months (I can very impatient )

Thanks in advance. I am sure I'll have more questions, but I think that's it for now.

Mike

Hey Mike, welcome to AA. :)

1. Up to you. Uncured rock can cycle your tank for you, cured rock will not help as much and will require an outside boost (like raw shrimp). I used uncured. You can also look at some base rock, which will become live over time. I would shoot for 180 lbs atleast, if not more, which would be beneficial.

2. Sorry, I am not a fish person. ;) Someone else should come along that can answer this question.