new to saltwater. few questions on setup

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jeff5347

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi everyone. This is my first attempt at SW. I've had FW since a kid and now want to try a SW as a FW doest have the cool fish. I want something that mimics the ocean, has color and just looking to try something new. So for now looking at a FOWLR setup.

Things I have so far and need to keep in mind are:
Built my stand ( 8 double 2x4 post)
Diy rock ( sitting in circulating water)
45 gallon tank
Need: Budget conscious as the wife does not want to take a second mortgage out.
I want to keep her happy as this will make this build a lot more fun and will keep her interested so I can keep moving forward.

I have been contemplating a diy sump w PS or a hang on the back PS. The hang on the back seems better for me in regards to price and as this is my first SW and I need to keep it simple first until I gain experience.
What i see I need to get going is a few pumps for water movement, the skimmer, live rock to seed my dead diy rock, better submersible heater, .. And not sure what else.
What hob skimmers do u guys feel is the best bang for the buck. Looking to do 200 or less and was curious on the reef octopus bh1000, back pak or what you guys may consider better. Was watching LA fish guys w reef dynamics and their PS skimmers look awesome but price is to high for this beginning stage.
I know I have more questions but kinda overwhelmed and not sure right now. I know my questions list will grow as time goes by. Thanks to all in advance for any feedback.

Re: Skimmers .. the Reef Octopus BH-90 is a decent one for a HOB. It's got a cylindrical body, which allows for better flow, etc than a rectangular body.