New to saltwater hobby

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

fishdude343

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi, I am new to saltwater tanks and i don't know what fish to get or what filters/lighting ect... to get i have done some research but still don't know some things.I am thinking of getting a 58 gallon tank, here are the messurements.the width is 3 feet, the height is two feet and the depth is 16 inches.Sorry about the bad estimate earlyer.

Here is a list of the fish i am thinking of getting.Feel free to edit, comment and give me sugestions.
Two false percula clownfish
One rolyal Gramma
A few gobbies(i don't know much about gobies need to do more research.please suggest some different kinds.)
A few Green chormises
Some damsels(please suggest a few kinds.)

I don't know how many more fish i can put in because i need my cleaning crew.

Thanks please respond

Kinda sounds like a 29 gallon tank to me if the measurements are correct.

Regarding the amount of fish you can put in... it will vary greatly depending on how many gallons your tank actually is. If it's 29g, you're not going to be able to put all those fish in there, without something really really bad happening. If it's a 50g tank, then you *might* be able to squeak that many fish in there - as long as you don't put in the damsels.

To determine tank capacity, measure length, width, and depth (all in inches) and multiply them all together. Divide that number by 231, and that's how many gallons (roughly) you've got.

One note... your cleaning crew (snails, crabs, shrimp) don't really add to the bioload of the tank, so the amount of cleaning crew doesn't effect how many fish you can add.