New to saltwater, lots of ?'s

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ufc94champ

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I currently have a 75 and 55 gallon in my garage, id like to set one up for saltwater. I am brand new to it, have had FW fish for a few years now though. So if I had a 75 gallon, glass tops, stand, lights, and a marineland 400 and a heater, what else do I need? Protein skimmer? Which one? Size? where to buy? Live sand and coral? Again wheres the cheapest to get? And water? Do I mix it with my tap water? Or do you buy it by the gallon? Sorry im such a newb, saltwater seems to have more variety and looks alot cooler imo. If someone could hook me up for what I would need for a 55 or 75 gallon thatd be awesome! I dont wanna go to petco and get screwed with buying things I dont need.

I currently have a 75 and 55 gallon in my garage, id like to set one up for saltwater. I am brand new to it, have had FW fish for a few years now though. So if I had a 75 gallon, glass tops, stand, lights, and a marineland 400 and a heater, what else do I need? Protein skimmer? Which one? Size? where to buy? Live sand and coral? Again wheres the cheapest to get? And water? Do I mix it with my tap water? Or do you buy it by the gallon? Sorry im such a newb, saltwater seems to have more variety and looks alot cooler imo. If someone could hook me up for what I would need for a 55 or 75 gallon thatd be awesome! I dont wanna go to petco and get screwed with buying things I dont need.

You're in the right place. Read some threads and you will get the idea pretty quickly.

Top things to look into;

RO/DI water and a reflectometer.
A efficient protein skimmer and sump if possible.
LED lighting, or T5
Proper stocking, no tangs or mandarins until you get your act together and have a big enough tank,
Flow requirements, much more of an issue with SW.