Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-28-2013, 06:34 PM   #41
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
I just ordered the same one for my new rimless tank. It comes with a template to show you where the holes go. It's a no-brainer!
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 04:44 PM   #42
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Bsnow0410's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 199
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1388349707.241742.jpg
Views:	117
Size:	26.1 KB
ID:	214169

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1388349773.141024.jpg
Views:	113
Size:	41.7 KB
ID:	214170

Ok this may be a stupid question but is there anyway I can use this hang on back canister filter as a pump to pump water into my sump instead of using a over flow? I was gunna use this in my sump anyway and just have the charcoal in it.
__________________

__________________
Bsnow0410 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 07:32 PM   #43
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
The only way you can make that work is if the refugium is drilled and it sits above the tank. It's impossible to synchronize 2 pumps to pump exactly the same amount, so either the display will overflow, or the sump will.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 09:34 PM   #44
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Bsnow0410's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 199
[QU OTE=mr_X;2769727]The only way you can make that work is if the refugium is drilled and it sits above the tank. It's impossible to synchronize 2 pumps to pump exactly the same amount, so either the display will overflow, or the sump will.[/QUOTE]


We'll the canister filter is only for a 55 gallon so I don't think it would pump that much and what if I just make the pipe go up a little after leaving the canister and make the piping a little long so it will slow the flow and separate it.
__________________
Bsnow0410 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 09:46 PM   #45
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Bsnow0410's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 199
We'll I guess it doesn't matter. I'm gunna drill it anyway. I live in a apartment so a spill over is not an option...so I just have to patient I just don't know how I'm gunna do it Bc that's tanks to big for the tub and it's winter where I live so outside is gunna be hard.
__________________
Bsnow0410 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 10:51 PM   #46
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Drill it right in your living room. You don't have to use a hose on it....just the small pool of water that sits inside the plumbers putty. Put a few towels inside the tank to catch the water when you go through.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 10:54 PM   #47
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Bsnow0410's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by m r_X View Post
Drill it right in your living room. You don't have to use a hose on it....just the small pool of water that sits inside the plumbers putty. Put a few towels inside the tank to catch the water when you go through.

Thanks man so much for the info. Now that you said that I'm deff gunna do it. I'll be ordering that kit prolly this weekend. I want this tank up haha but still gotta have my buddy build the stand.
__________________
Bsnow0410 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 10:57 PM   #48
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
I'm in the same boat. I have a tank sitting in my living room with no holes in it and no stand. I'm getting anxious.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 11:37 PM   #49
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Bsnow0410's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_X View Post
I'm in the same boat. I have a tank sitting in my living room with no holes in it and no stand. I'm getting anxious.

I wanna drill i just don't know if it's tempered glass and it scares me
__________________
Bsnow0410 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 03:55 PM   #50
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Bsnow0410's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 199
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1388519635.260827.jpg
Views:	94
Size:	40.4 KB
ID:	214499

Has to re do the sump. For one I messed up and sucked the first time and use the wrong stuff that wasn't meant for water submerging so I peeled it all up and re did it. Also did it differntly this time and want a refugium so I'm hoping this will work.
__________________

__________________
Bsnow0410 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ate, salt, saltwater, water

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

« Sand! | Tap water »
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.