New to saltwater need some help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Bsnow0410

Aquarium Advice Activist
Ok so I'm new to saltwater I've looked up stuff before but I was gunna do a 20 long before and decided not to at the time but now I'm getting a 75 gallon tank and wanna take my time and do this this right. I wanna drill it and put a sump in but not sure how I'm gunna do that Bc not sure what I'd have to do? Can anybody help?

Glass-holes.com has nice kits to drill your tank and install an overflow.

YouTube has some nice videos of ppl drilling their tanks and how they do it

I decided if rather just go with a hangon back overflow just seems to be a lot easier then drilling holes and doing all of that. I'm just not really sure how to hook it all up and what to use in the sump and how a sump really works? Advice much appreciated

Hob overflows are fine, just beware they can lose siphon and flood your floor. You will have to figure out what size bulkheads your overflow uses and plumb it accordingly. I'm not that keen on how to set a sump up because I've only done it once with someone who was a lot more experienced so hopefully someone else can chime in. A sump is basically extra water volume and somewhere to put a skimmer, refugium, other equipment, etc...

I use a hob overflow on my 56. Does the job. But first things first. What size sump where you thinking? What kind of room do you have available? Will it be under the stand? Basically your sump is a place for you to put all of your equipment ( sump heater etc..) it also serves as filtration by adding media, a refugium etc. You don't need a refugium but they are helpful. But as for pumping it, it's really simple. You can do it yourself with PVC or tor LFS will have the correct tubing to fit the overflow box and one for whatever size return pump you get.