Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 06-29-2012, 12:04 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak

New to SW/ 40br fowlr build

I am brand new to this SW game and need a hand in direction. I picked up my 40 gallon breeder tank yesterday from petco. I am going to be making my own stand I believe. This is my list of other components I had tentatively picked out for the build so far.
150w heater
reef octopus bh1000 skimmer
koralia 750 & 550 power heads
and probably 40lbs of base rock and sand combo pack from marcorocks.com (If I do any live rock I was going to get 5lbs or so locally)

Is there any changes I should make? Any suggestions or critiques? I know I will need a hydrometer and am planning on getting an api saltwater test kit.

40b SW- 2 false percula, some corals and a small cuc
RedNeck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2012, 12:18 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

You're going to want a refractometer. They're 1000x more accurate. Also, your definitely going to want to add about 5lbs lr. It will help a lot in seeding the base. Best of luck!!!!!!!!

Old 06-30-2012, 12:16 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict

Send a message via Skype™ to kdpuffer
If this is going to be a fowlr you can cross the skimmer off the list, it's not needed but that being said it wouldn't be a bad thing. What are you thinking of having for fish?
Old 06-30-2012, 12:33 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict

You'll want anything and everything to keep the water clean. The less clean, the more frequent and larger water changes you will have to make. Skimmer IMO is a high priority in any tank.
Old 06-30-2012, 12:45 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by Terrance