Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 10-10-2011, 12:51 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

New to SW 55g

I am new to SW, I've had FW all my life but think it is time to take the plunge. I have a 55 gallon undrilled tank. I'm planning on a FOWLR I believe it's called, fish and live rock. Thinking of clowns, tangs, trigger fish, butterfly fish, fox face, anemones, crabs, shrimp and maybe lobster, etc.. I've been looking everywhere online for a wet/dry system and skimmer. I've been looking into the Eshopps wet/dry filter and skimmer, from what I have seen they are good for the price. I would really like some opinions on those products. I plan on starting within the next 2-3 weeks. Also, approximately how much live rock and live sand will I need?

Old 10-10-2011, 02:34 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

POTM Champion

Hi welcome to the forum!

Unfortunately a 55g is too small for tangs. :-(
In order to get anemones you will need some awesome lighting, what do you have in mind?

I have a eshopps refugium and it's good quality and sturdy, i like it very much. Not sure about their wet drys though.....I also have an in sump skimmer from eshopps, their psk 150 and I'm pretty pleased with that as well. You will need an overflow box to get the water from the tank to sump btw if you didn't already plan on that.

Also as far as live rock and sand, I would aim for between 1.5 lbs per gallon and 2.0 lbs per gallon. Since your'e doing a FOWLR you can get away with less rock than a reef tank. As far as sand, I would say about 75 lbs should be good.

Old 10-10-2011, 02:45 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie