New to SW 55g

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

josed86

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I am new to SW, I've had FW all my life but think it is time to take the plunge. I have a 55 gallon undrilled tank. I'm planning on a FOWLR I believe it's called, fish and live rock. Thinking of clowns, tangs, trigger fish, butterfly fish, fox face, anemones, crabs, shrimp and maybe lobster, etc.. I've been looking everywhere online for a wet/dry system and skimmer. I've been looking into the Eshopps wet/dry filter and skimmer, from what I have seen they are good for the price. I would really like some opinions on those products. I plan on starting within the next 2-3 weeks. Also, approximately how much live rock and live sand will I need?

Hi welcome to the forum! :-D

Unfortunately a 55g is too small for tangs. :-(
In order to get anemones you will need some awesome lighting, what do you have in mind?

I have a eshopps refugium and it's good quality and sturdy, i like it very much. Not sure about their wet drys though.....I also have an in sump skimmer from eshopps, their psk 150 and I'm pretty pleased with that as well. You will need an overflow box to get the water from the tank to sump btw if you didn't already plan on that.

Also as far as live rock and sand, I would aim for between 1.5 lbs per gallon and 2.0 lbs per gallon. Since your'e doing a FOWLR you can get away with less rock than a reef tank. :) As far as sand, I would say about 75 lbs should be good.

As far as lighting I'm not sure which direction to go yet. Right now I have the florescent lights the tank came with. Are there bulbs I can use in the lamps that will be good with anemones?
I really wanted some tangs but I guess I'll have to go with something else.
As far as the overflow box goes, the Eshopps wet/dry kit comes with an overflow box and everything needed, except the pump itself.