New to the community

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Stizuner

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Just wanted to say hi.

I have been browsing around and these are fantastic forums, so i decided to make it my home.

My tank is only been up about 2.5 months total. I am new to the whole hobby and have done everything by self research. So let me introduce you to my tank and its occupants!

Its a fish only tank, I have been thinking of adding some cleanup crew critters to help my skimmers load. Maybe a lawnmower blenny as well.

Setup Details:
80 gallon RR acrylic aquarium
30 gallon sump
standpipe overflow
jackson marine skimmer
100 lbs crushed coral for the sandbed
0 lbs live rock, i'll be adding some to sump shortly.
Lighting are just 2 6500k NO's w/ a actinic bulb'

The lighting is where my focus is currently... i just finished the design phase of my lighting setup (i'm a computer geek so of course my lighting plans get visio'd first lol).. which will be a 400watt MH in the center w/ 2 actinic VHO's, and after reading the DIY led guide.. i think i have to add those to the mix.

My livestock are:
1 Blue Tang
1 Maroon/Yellow clown
1 yellow tang
1 domino damsel
1 yellow damsel
1 stripe damsel
2 macro algae plants in sump.. this was my addition to try to offset the brown algae that was taking over my tank.

Anyway.. we all love pictures so here are mine..

p1010070.jpg

p1010071.jpg

p1010072.jpg

hi. what are your plans with this tank? will you be keeping corals? if you intend to keep corals, you'll need somewhere to put them. what most people do is create a natural aquascape out of live rock and allow the corals to grow over the rock.