new to the hobbie and new tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

joseramentol

Aquarium Advice Activist
hello everyone i started my tank today and wanted to know what you guys think ive done right so far and done wrong and what i am missing,also what i should be checking for this 3 weeks of cycling the water.

-10 gallon tank (decided to start small)
-4.7 pounds of live rocks
-2 mechanical filters 1 on each side
-sand from the local aquarium store

i will be buying my light tomorrow as well as the heater

if you guys have any good tips please let me know this is my first time ever doing a salt water fish tank and need all the help i can get, i will also be posting pictures soon.:thanks:

Hi there, and welcome to the salty side. It seems like you're starting out ok. I'd read the articles on AA for more info:Saltwater

Any reason you decided on a 10g tank? A larger tank is 1) easier to maintain, and 2) can hold bigger/more fish. With a 10g tank, you're going to be very limited to the # and type of fish you can have.

If you have the space, I'd highly reccomend going larger, especially as a first tank.

well is started a 10 gallon tank because this tank is just for my room and i thought it would b easier until today that you are the 2nd person that tells me the larger the tank the easier it is lol :D

If you can, I'd like to suggest a 40g breeder as a small tank. Obviously, if you can go larger, I would but a 40g is a nice start. Good size to start with and you can keep a number of small fish in there.

By personal experience I can assure you'll be wanting a bigger tank within the first month or two and then you'd have to start your cycle all over again. I also recommend you start with something easily manageable like a 40 to 50 gallon tank that will give you room to grow. I have a 46 gallon euro tank and love it.