new to the site and to saltwater!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tfarol

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi i recently found this site and i found that the forum and all the articles are very useful!!! I am also new to the saltwater community and i had a couple of questions. I have a 55 gallon tank which i am in the process of turning into a saltwater tank. I already have 40 LBS of aragonite and 25 LBS of live sand. I plan on buying the live rock next. My main concern was my filtration. I have a fluval 404. People have told me that it is good enough "for now." I do plan on getting a wet/dry a couple months from now. But i thought since i have the 404 i might as well use it now to cycle the tank. So what kind of media shoud i have in the fluval? Right now there is carbon and those little white cylinder shaped things. Can anyone tell me if i should get different media for the fluval. All info is appreciated. And thank you in advance!!!

Sounds like you are on the right path with the sand. How much live rock do you plan to add. If you add 1 1/2 to 2 lbs per gallon that will be all the filtration you need. you can then take all the filter media out of the fluval and just use it for circulation and/or carbon when needed. Filter media is unnessasary with the right amount of biological filtration. If filter media works correctly, it traps waste and just filters your water through the waste, thus causing your nitrates to rise.

You also might want to look into setting up a DSB (deep sand bed). This, if properly done, will control nitrate concentrations in your tank. It needs to be at least 4" deep. I would stay away from the wet/dry as it will, as Micheal said, produce nitrates. What kind of lighting are you going to use?