new to this all

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jredmon74

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am new to sw and would like to get started i am looking at a oceanic bio cube 29 gallon tank. I have been researching on this tank so far i see to get rid of the bio balls and put LR in it. I am wanting to set-up a reef tank and have seen that the protien skimmer for that tank is not worth to much any recomadations on that? I plan on getting the tank, salt, LR, and substrate this weekend and have read how to cycle the tank with the raw shrimp. I see its a long process. Is there any process I am missing so far.

good idea on looking into an all in one tank, seems to make it easier to get into the hobby with somewhat lower maintenance and confusion of buying equipment seperately.

you shouldnt need a protein skimmer on a tank that small at all as long as you keep up with maintenance, the bioball for LR rubble swap is a good idea as well. and good for you going the fishless cycling route! its the most humane way to cycle a tank, and trust me, cycling with fish isnt any faster, if dont correctly both take ~3-4 weeks.

everything in the beginning looks good, the only thing i recommend is to get sand and not crushed coral or gravel and to put your LR in first so it sits on the actual bottom of the tank

oh and be sure to post plenty of pictures as you go along! welcome to AA!

I just rec'd my Red Sea Max 250L(65 gal) today and am no SW expert. But I did research all the others like Oceanic, JBJ & RSM. All are good IMO & according to reviews. My LFS owner says the Oceanic skimmer is OK. I saw the negative Oceanic skimmer posts too but suspect newbies who had nothing to skim or didn't adjust/observe/repeat.

Red Sea makes a 35 gallon that is excellent, but costs more. The PS is for real.