Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 01-28-2011, 07:20 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Red face new to this all

I am new to sw and would like to get started i am looking at a oceanic bio cube 29 gallon tank. I have been researching on this tank so far i see to get rid of the bio balls and put LR in it. I am wanting to set-up a reef tank and have seen that the protien skimmer for that tank is not worth to much any recomadations on that? I plan on getting the tank, salt, LR, and substrate this weekend and have read how to cycle the tank with the raw shrimp. I see its a long process. Is there any process I am missing so far.

Old 01-28-2011, 07:29 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

good idea on looking into an all in one tank, seems to make it easier to get into the hobby with somewhat lower maintenance and confusion of buying equipment seperately.

you shouldnt need a protein skimmer on a tank that small at all as long as you keep up with maintenance, the bioball for LR rubble swap is a good idea as well. and good for you going the fishless cycling route! its the most humane way to cycle a tank, and trust me, cycling with fish isnt any faster, if dont correctly both take ~3-4 weeks.

everything in the beginning looks good, the only thing i recommend is to get sand and not crushed coral or gravel and to put your LR in first so it sits on the actual bottom of the tank

oh and be sure to post plenty of pictures as you go along! welcome to AA!

Old 01-28-2011, 09:41 PM   #3