Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 01-26-2013, 06:10 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
NEWB ADVICE - 40 gallon saltwater plans/questions

Hello Everyone,

I am new to saltwater aquariums. I currently have a 40 gallon FRESHWATER tank (picture shown). I spoke with my local fish store and they will take all of my fish and plants as I plan to upgrade to saltwater.

My Vision:
Beautiful rocks, 2 clown fish (possibly breed them), 1 star fish and 1 anemone. Nothing crazy I don't want to spend a million hours testing it and cleaning it.

My Questions:
1) Can I keep my gravel from my freshwater tank for the saltwater tank? Aka do I need sand?
2) how many pounds of live rock should I buy? 40?
3) I found a place online selling Purple live rock which is gorgeous... Is this ok to start with?
4) how do I go about buying mating clownfish?
5) besides salt and hydrometer what other supplies do I need?

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-501714759.jpg
Views:	58
Size:	125.8 KB
ID:	147422

Jlabonte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 08:20 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
1. You need to use live sand. Do not use gravel.
2. A good rule of thumb is 1 lb per gallon. If you so not have a sump or are running a skimmer you will want 1.5 lbs per gallon.

3. Don't buy purple rock. Unless it is purple due to coraline algae. To keep cost down you can use 50% live rock and 50% dry rock. Within a couple weeks the dry rock will become alive and the coraline algae will spread over it over the next couple months. Dry rock is only 2-3$ per pound at bulkreefsupplysupply.com.

4. Most aquarium stores sell mated pairs. You can also order a mated pair from an online website.