Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-15-2006, 10:10 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: pittsburgh
Posts: 30
Newbi lr question

Hi
Im setting up tank tomorrow(sat)(75 gal). I have 60lbs lr coming monday because their taking tank down. What should I do with lr keep it aside until I cycle tank or put it in?
__________________

__________________
iamfor3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2006, 10:39 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ezy33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco's Barbary Coast
Posts: 2,545
Send a message via ICQ to ezy33
Cycle it in the tank. If your readings are good then you are set to go. Please take the time to fill out "myinfo".
__________________

__________________
ezy33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2006, 11:27 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: pittsburgh
Posts: 30
46gal
__________________
iamfor3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2006, 03:18 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
You can add it to the tank. Please do not cycle with live animals. The LR should help you tank cycle. Do you have a test kit?
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2006, 03:05 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
Chances are the rock is already cured/cycled and full of good bacteria if it's coming straight from a tank that's setup and running. If not ready to put it in a tank, you can put it in plastic tubs with a powerhead going on it. Will need to drop some food in there maybe a couple of times a week to feed that bacteria too.

If you are going to add it to a new tank, you may get an instant cycle from it and be able to add a small fish or two right away.

In either case, still keep an eye on the ammonia.

What's the plan for more rock? Substrate?
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2006, 03:51 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: pittsburgh
Posts: 30
Cool thanks guys
Im going to add the LR to the tank. Yes I have a test kit.
Not looking to add fish right away want to make sure everything is right first.
when it cycles what would be a good cleanup crew?
Is 15lbs base rock and 60lbs LR good enough?
one more thing how long should i run the lights?
__________________
iamfor3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2006, 04:09 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
Exactly what is the origin of the 60 lbs of rock? May not get a cycle at all from it. Check the ammonia in 2 days after youy get it and see what's happenning. If none, it won't cycle your tank.

I'd leave the lights off for now. And add a power head or two.
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2006, 04:47 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: pittsburgh
Posts: 30
Its comming out of a friends tank. I have 2 maxi jet 1200 in a 46gal should I put more?
__________________
iamfor3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2006, 04:49 PM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
Tank up and running w/water circulation/powerheads etc? If so, it won't cycle your tank.

2 MJ1200 phs are fine in a 46 IMO.
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2006, 04:51 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: pittsburgh
Posts: 30
yes, should I not put it in?
__________________

__________________
iamfor3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Semi newbi needs help. McSullivan Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 05-03-2009 04:09 PM
Hello all, I have a 45gal saltwater and need advice. Newbi here MissDeffiance Member Introductions 6 02-07-2009 05:28 PM
newbi needs help iamfor3 Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 6 09-13-2006 03:21 PM
Newbi wanting "balanced tank" Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 16 07-10-2006 12:02 AM
Poop question...Gross I know. Wondering. And sleep question Melissamustang Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 01-23-2006 03:31 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.