Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 09-19-2004, 05:41 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Newbie 20 gal suggestions

Hi all, Im new to this forum and read articles for hours and hours the last few days. I am new to saltwater tanks but have had FW tanks for 20 years and curently have 4 FW tanks ranging from 55 to 180 gallons. So to cut to the chase I have former 20 gal quarantine tank that I set up with a UGF, Hagen 201 power head, an Aqua clear 200 HOB, Ebo 100w heater, 15 lbs of crushed coral and 20 lbs of live rock. The tank is cycled. Will I be successful with this setup using proper maintance? I would like to add 3 fish eventually my choices are a lawnmowe blenny, watchman gobie and a pistol shrimp, purple firefish and an oc. clown. I plan on just having 3 maybe I can support all 4? I dont plan on adding the fish all at once. Will I be able to get away without a protien skimmer. Thanks for all the advise!

Old 09-19-2004, 05:49 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak

i would say yes but i would wait on the shrimp

philly
philly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2004, 12:26 PM   #3
Sam
Aquarium Advice Freak

Send a message via Yahoo to Sam
That set-up should be fine as long as you don't want to get into a reef set up and you keep up the maintenance and water changes. Sounds well thought out and the planned inhabitants will have low bioloads. You may want to consider some snails to help with waste control. HTH

Me
Sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2004, 01:52 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Yea this helps alot. I was considering some turbo snails after some algae formed on the glass. If this all works well I may convert one of my two 75 gal to sw as well.
Old 09-20-2004, 02:02 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Newbie