The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Lindsikins00

Aquarium Advice Activist
Ok I'm a newbie to the salt thing......but am quite familiar with freshwater stuff. N e ways.....I have had my tank for about 6 months (2 damsels, sabae clown, PJ cardinal, peppermint shrimp) it is 30 gallons. I added a new rock the other day (lace rock) and my first coral, a button polyp. I also did a water change recently cause the Nitrate with 10ppm. Before I changed the water the PH was 8.3, ammonia and nitrite were 0 and nitrate was 10ppm. so anyways....the tap water here is 7.6. So I did a 10 percent water change the day after I added the coral and lace rock....and tested the water again. Nitrite and ammonia were 0, nitrate barely any...maybe 2ppm but the PH was 7.8!!!! When I did the water change I added Buffer to the water. I tested it the next day and it was 7.5!!! I added two more doses of buffer today and the PH is 7.8 now. Is it the rock maybe causing this.....i thought lace rock was ok for saltwater. Should I take it out? Is it something else.....what else do I need to test for now I have coral? I dont think I really understand the whole alklinity/ph/buffer thing.....maybe Im just not testing the right thing. Here are some specs that may help, 30 gallon bowfront, Live aragonite, about 15 lbs of lace rock, 10 tufa, and 10 of live rock, I have a penguin 170 running without biowheel (i was told to take it off, is that right?) and a skilter (i don't really like it, so i might get a marineland skimmer in a couple months. also a aquaclear powerhead, a proquatics heater, a 50/50 bulb and a 10,000K bulb. Also there are two clam looking things on my live rock (i assume that is what they are) what do they eat etc? Any advice will be greatly appriciated....am I going in the right direction? what about the PH....I am a fulltime student and work 30 hrs a week so I do