The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ArachnidAcolyte

Aquarium Advice Newbie
ok guys a few questions, I am really new to the salt water tank idea, and i am about to start one once i know what i can and cant do.

First off, i have a 55 gal tank at the moment, i also have an emperor 400 filter, a protien skimmer, and a canister filter. Which should i use for the tank? could i use all three to get maxiumum filtration and flow?

Live sand, wouldnt sand be sucked up by these filters? should i go with crushed coral?

what type of lighting would be most cost effective but still very benificial for my tank?

thank you
k

the live sand IS the filter and the only other filtration youd need comes from inverts and maybe a skimmer. canister filters im not a big fan of, or fluvals. Once the sand settles it wont be sucked up its rather stable. You could use all 3 but really you dont need to unless you wana do it during the cycle but ultimately the tank is self supporting with limited filtration and water changes. Lighting is a whole book in itself. I would suggest PC 's or VHO to start off with then move to metal halides later unless you can afford it in the beginning. You want around 10 watts per gallon and id recommend custom sea life hoods and bulbs. Look for 50/50 Actinic/Full spectrum. marineandreef.com is a good site to shop on.

What do you intend to do with your tank?

Lighting is the most expensive part of your tank or at least it can be so you should buy the proper lighting for what you want to do up front vs having to buy 2 or even three different lighting setups.