Newbie.... Help!!!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ff.rice

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hello all, I am getting ready to start up a 30 gallon salt water tank..... I'm new to salt water so I had a few questions.... I bought the whole set up from somebody, it has a 10 gallon sump tank..... The first question I had is; is there some kind of filter that goes in the first section of the sump tank? It has 3 sections and the middle section has bio balls in it. Also, I have a light set up and not sure what each light is called or how they need to be set up to come on...... It has 3 small led lights that are like moon light, tube lights that are blue colored, and tube lights that are bright white fluorescent color........ Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!

pics will help.
You can put filter socks on the drain into the sump. Personally I don't as I believe is detracts from the skimmer. A protein skimmer should go in the first section as well. If you don't have one, consider getting one, but you have to make sure it fits in there.
Second section. remove the bio balls and use them to practice your golf swing in the back yard. Puting (not putting) rocks and more importantly macro algae in the second section will be what keeps your nitrate levels at or close to 0.
Light. Sounds like a standard T5HO fixture with very narrow (5/8") bulbs. The blue bulbs are actinic bulbs and concentrate their light energy in the wavelength perferred by the bacteria that keep out corals alive. The whites help, but also make the tank look nicer for our eyes to enjoy.
Read lots before you start stocking your tank. Read the stickies in the getting started thread for basic info. Fishless cycle.