Newbie here with a 55 gal empty canvas.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

CaptainNewbie

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
First off hello all, I recently moved out on my own and have always wanted to start a saltwater tank and I figured what time would be better then the present. I was given a 55 gallon tank from a friend with some salt and sand and a top fin filter, I went to my local store and got a heater a PH test kit and a salinity tester. My first question to start off with the many I guess is what equipment do I need to get a tank started. I have spent some time reading through the many forums here and from what I can gather a good filter is important which I am guessing mine is no good and lighting is very important. I know the light that was given to me is a flouresent bulb that spans the lenght of the tank. Any tips or advice is greatley appreciated.:p

well....first off...figure out what kind of fish you want...then work around that...most fish require different things...plus do you want live corals and anemones in the tank? you should look into buying a book on saltwater tanks and decide on your fish then go at it...patience is a virtue! Saltwater tanks get a bad rap for being "complex" and "hard to maintain" they just take a little more time and a little patience and some daily maintenance, but personally I like coming home from work, seein' the fish excited and doing my chores with them...kinda our personal time..........and now I sound like a wierdo! (BLAH! :p) I like this book:

Amazon.com: The New Marine Aquarium: Step-By-Step Setup & Stocking Guide: Michael S. Paletta, Edward Kadunc, Scott W. Michael, John Goodman: Books

great for begginers and don't go all "budgety" with it...get the best stuff you can get, don't try and do it all at once....in about two months you'll have a great looking aquarium!