Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 11-13-2004, 10:50 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Newbie, how am I doing? (Love these forums!)

Good day all-
I am a saltwater NEWBIE, an AA forums NEWBIE(love it), and a marine fish lover!

I have recently purchased a 47.5 gallon Juwel tank and stand and set it up as a saltwater system. I would like to see if anyone has any advise on what to add, change, etc based on the following equipment:

1-47.5ga Juwel aquarium with internal corner filter, biological, with flow rate of approx. 160 GPH

1-Eheim Cannister filter #2217, with BIOMECH and ESUBSTRAIT, flow rate approx 250 GPH

1-Prizm Deluxe protein skimmer

1-200w Heater

22lbs- Live Fiji Rock (40# Keys coming from lr.com very soon)

Digital therm and Digital pH monitor

Crushed coral, 40lbs. for substrait

2-30W flourescents, 1-daylight, and 1 blue actinic

7-black mollies for cycling

1-red legged hermit for cleaning up a little.

It has been operating for 1 week now, my measurements are as follows:

pH-8.0 (adding buffer each day)
Salinity- 1.0235
Ammonia- 1.0 mg/l
Nirates- 30 mg/l
Nitrites- 3.0 mg/l
Calcium- 460 mg/l
Temperature- 79.6F

Am I on the right path, or is there anything else I need to be doing to increase the chances of having a ultra-successful FOWLR system? All equipment is operating fine, I just want to give my future inhabitants the best possible chance to survive and thrive.

Thanks in advance for the help!

Cheers,

Logan (logman17)

Old 11-13-2004, 10:56 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic