Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-30-2010, 02:36 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 18
Newbie Question

Looking at some tank photos I noticed that some tanks have a black box usually attached to the back wall. Is this an overflow box and do the tubing for a filter attach to the bottom of the box? If so, does this look better than having tubes showing in the tank?
__________________

__________________
mystair13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 02:45 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
pat8you's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Woodbridge, Va
Posts: 1,802
Send a message via AIM to pat8you
yes, the black box is an overflow. There is usually a stand pipe and pressure line inside the overflow for the input/output of the tank. There are two holes drilled in the bottom glass for the pipes and they are then connected to a sump (another tank for equipments and things of that nature underneath the main display). I think it looks better to have an overflow and i like having a sump underneath to be able to hide equipment as well as add water volume to the tank.
__________________

__________________
Pat
pat8you is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 02:51 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 18
That is the way I am leaning but just wanted to make sure that is what it was. I was also going to have a reservoir tank next to my wet/dry filter to help maintain water levels.
__________________
mystair13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 03:56 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 18
Being new I am not completely sure how to set this up. There are two holes on the bottom, I am assuming one for intake and one for return. Are there tubes that actually connect to these holes on the top side? If anyone has any pictures to I can see what it looks like before I start purchasing plumbing as I am a "pictures" kind of guy. I can figure anything by looking at a picture rather than words only. Thanks for any help.
__________________
mystair13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 04:07 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
pat8you's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Woodbridge, Va
Posts: 1,802
Send a message via AIM to pat8you
If you are going to make one your self check out this link.
Durso Standpipes

the pressure line from your pump is just a piece of pvc connected to lockline.

Aquarium Intake/Outake Kit at Big Al's Online
__________________
Pat
pat8you is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Newbie question pt 1 warped1 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 03-24-2008 10:22 AM
newbie question l unoRthoDox l Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 01-07-2006 01:50 PM
Newbie question... skank-a-holic Aquaria Off-Topic 4 05-23-2005 09:46 AM
Newbie question aqua_fan General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 01-23-2004 11:42 AM
yet another newbie question.... cwoo Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 07-20-2003 05:47 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.